The Next SS Quilt

9 Feb

Remember the other day when I said I was going to start another quilt – a wall hanging – but I said I needed to abstain?  Luckily I did abstain because we got another Scrap Squad (SS) assignment!

I can’t wait to jump into the design part of a new quilt.  I immediately drew this one up in EQ and started playing.  Except… the problem was… I LIKED this quilt as pictured.  🙂  I really liked the colors and the pattern.  If I received the magazine and wasn’t on Scrap Squad, I’d make the quilt exactly as is.  So with that niggling in the back of my mind, it’s hard to pick something else.

But I did.  I chose primary colors.

Primary colors with a constant cheddar / bright yellow!

Primary colors with a constant cheddar / bright yellow!

What is it with my obsession for that plain bright yellow that I call cheddar?  I might as well buy a bolt because it seems to go in every quilt somewhere.

Why the light blue?  Well even though the cheddar is a medium, I felt I needed another medium value because bright yellow is so… well, bright… that it overwhelms a quilt and reads like the dark values.  Here is the same picture in black and white.

Yellow and light blue are the mediums; royal blue and red are the darks, and black on white fabrics are the lights.

Yellow and light blue are the mediums; royal blue and red are the darks, and black on white fabrics are the lights.

And more good news – I was able to consolidate TWO bins of bright reds into ONE!  I’m using up the stash, baby!

I think you’ll like this next quilt.  I do.  It’s practically putting itself together – it’s that simple – but yet it’s striking and bold.  🙂

Leave a Reply

