Play Day

26 Jan

I’m bouncing between unfinished projects today. One thing I’m playing with is my sister’s Eleanor Burns’ Flying Geese ruler. I’ve heard really good reviews on this ruler so I thought I’d try it out.

20130126-142556.jpg
So far so good. Since I had leftover yellow 4.5″ squares, those were chosen for my background. Yellow 2.5″ leftovers were cut down to 2″ for the corners and any ole 3.5″ blocks were taken from bins for the centers. I needed 6″ darks for the points. I have a few pre-cut but that’s not a size I usually keep around.

The instructions that came with the ruler are good. The geese were perfect. As you can see, I tried a striped fabric so I could see how the stripes turned out. I like it! All stripes are going the same direction!

I will make more of these. They take longer than normal flying geese but are more accurate. Since I have so many of those yellow pieces pre-cut, I may put them aside to use in the near future.

One Response to “Play Day”

  1. Lee January 26, 2013 at 6:53 PM #

    That might be a ruler I’ll have to try/get, your geese, blocks, look great. I really like that bow-tie in the center of the star! and hopefully you’ll chuckle with me as at first glance, it looked like one of those dog-bone shaped dog treats – I think it’s the color and the flecks which I can’t quite make out in the photo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

