Design Wall Monday

21 Jan

Here’s what’s on my design wall today.

Image

On the left is “A Mistake”.  I should probably rename that.  But here’s the story.  On Friday, I got the urge to design a quilt.  I got out my laptop and EQ and designed away.  I came up with a pretty good design.  I made a sample block.  Didn’t love it.  Made THREE MORE sample blocks in different colorways.  Liked all three of the new blocks.  I picked one with a cheddar background – but – no cheddar fabric in my stash.  I really want to use my stash.  I slept on it.  “I’ve got other bright yellows or close to cheddar I can use,” I said to myself.  So… I went to town and wrote up the instructions then proceeded to cut out the entire quilt out of my “close enough” cheddar fabric.  I then completed the entire first step of the pattern.  I always do my least favorite thing first because you are gung ho about starting a new project and can endure the least favorite part at that time.  So I sewed 150 2.5″ half square triangles in red and this “close enough” cheddar fabric.  By Sunday afternoon, I knew.  This fabric was not going to pop like I wanted.  This is not going to work.  I tried.  I put alternative fabrics with it.  Nope… Now what to do with 150 2.5″ half square triangles, 4.5″ squares and 2.5″ squares?  Well, I made this baby quilt out of most of the half square triangles and some of the 4.5″ squares.  It’s small – 28 x 36.  I’ll have to add some borders.  But it’s okay.  Here’s a better picture.

Image

I think I’ll call it “Strawberry Lemonade”.  When quilting gives you lemons, make strawberry lemonade.  🙂

I still have leftovers that can be used somewhere else.  BTW, I went out and purchased plain, bright cheddar fabric.  The original project isn’t dead – just in hibernation until next weekend.  During the week, I’ll work on that string quilt to the right since that’s mindless sewing and that’s all I can handle during the week.

I’ll leave you with this picture of Hawk.

Image

“Nobody told me I wasn’t supposed to be on this couch!”

2 Responses to “Design Wall Monday”

  1. Karen January 21, 2013 at 9:27 AM #

    I love both of these quilts!
    Your dog looks like my daughters dog – he too thinks the couch is his – a black lab?

    • ginaquilts January 21, 2013 at 4:52 PM #

      Thanks Karen! I had to take that clunker block out of the string quilt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

