I Survived

18 Jan

I survived the first week of classes.  It’s always rough going but we’re on our way into the semester.

Even though today is Friday, I don’t have to physically go into work today.  I have face-to-face classes on Monday through Thursday during the day and Thursday night.  I DO have work to do today though for my online class and for next week’s preparations.  I also have to work 7am-11am tomorrow (Saturday). Our computer club is hosting a LAN party and I’m splitting the supervising with the other computer club advisor.

What sewing got accomplished this week?  I tried to work on Easy Street and again, did more unsewing than sewing!  I put that top away.  I didn’t do any actual quilting on the longarm because that requires a calm demeanor for me and  this week was anything but calm.  So I worked on these two piecing projects.

Left:  North by Northwest; Right:  New Plaid Strings top

Left: North by Northwest; Right: New Plaid Strings top

I have 350 half square triangles for the North by Northwest triangle pieced.  I put together the 6″ blocks shown there.  It’s such a “clean” looking quilt.  I really like it.  The string quilt is NEW.  🙂  But it’s mindless piecing which is all I had time for.  I swear I’ve only sat down at the sewing machine for 15-25 minute increments and look at all the 8″ blocks that I’ve got done!  20!  I’ll take it.  It will be a nice charity quilt.

I sorted through my already cut strips and pulled out the plaid strips that I found in 1.5″, 2″, and 2.5″.  What I have up there doesn’t include any new cutting.  Yesterday, I went to my stash and cut some more strips though.  I needed more variety.  Here’s what I have to work with now.

S

Looks like I have my work cut out for me this weekend?  Think I can finish this top by Tuesday?  I think so!  I will be 80 8″ squares for a finished size of 64″ x 80″.  I am 1/4 of the way finished without trying.  That’s my goal – let’s see if I can accomplish it!

2 Responses to “I Survived”

  1. Nancy January 18, 2013 at 10:08 AM #

    Way to go Gina, love both of the quilts. What would we do without our quilting for peace and sanity? Glad you made it through your first week.

  2. Lee January 18, 2013 at 1:18 PM #

    I *really* like the plaid string blocks; makes me want to go start yet another new project!

Leave a Reply

