My BFF

8 Jan

Meet my new best friend.

SONY DSC

I’m not sure what her name is but she thinks it might be Crap since that’s what I yell right before I grab her.  She can’t understand why I’m so angry with her – she didn’t make the error.  She’s just coming to the rescue.  But, dang… she’s getting too much use lately!

Why?  This stealth project that I’m working on?  It has (wait… let me count…) a gazillion points that need to be matched!

Now normally, I go by the theory of “good enough” – It’s a blanket after all.  But this quilt will be seen by more than just my family and I’m letting my perfectionist tendencies get the best of me.  Apparently I missed the class entitled “Matching Points 101”.  I must have also slept through “The Perfect Quarter Inch Seam Allowance” class also because if I had a perfect 1/4″ seam allowance those stinking points would match up and I wouldn’t have to use Crap so often.

Even though she’s my new BFF, she’s not much fun.  Last night I said to her in frustration, “Let’s go drown our sorrows in a pitcher of milkshakes or Margaritas.”  And she was all like “No…. look how skinny I am fatty.  Now quit talking to inanimate objects and keep sewing those rows together!”

Here’s another sneak peak at the wacky colors in the stealth quilt top.

SONY DSCYou had to click on the picture to see if the points where matched up perfectly didn’t you?  See what I mean?  Torture…

6 Responses to “My BFF”

  1. Becky in KCMO January 8, 2013 at 9:15 PM #

    I so much relate!! There are too many of those little suckers!

  2. bsburgess January 8, 2013 at 10:25 PM #

    I think it looks great so far. I like the colors and the points are better than good. I have a tool just like yours named Aghh

  3. Lee January 8, 2013 at 11:22 PM #

    I have no idea where my seam ripper is. Oh, not that I sew perfectly, to that I can attest with managing to get some of those Easy Street blocks turned around and stitched, even with laying them out correctly. Rather, I find it hard to use a seam ripper, so I have a pair of small scissors with quite sharp pointy tips and I clip a bad seam on one side about every 4th stitch or so, then flip it over, put a point under the stitches and lift – the thread pulls right off bringing ‘most’ of the snipped bits with it. Finger nails pinch any remaining threads off (or my handy dandy lint brush does). I’ve done it this way for so long now that it’s easier and I rarely ever accidentally cut the fabric.

  4. mosaicthinking January 8, 2013 at 11:56 PM #

    Hate unpicking – the ripper is no friend of mine. Still have to use one, of course and I’ve discovered that a good quality ripper works better than a cheap one – seems to be a combination of sharper cutting edge, smoother metal on the cutting edge and a reasonably grippable handle.

  5. Pretty Lady Baby January 9, 2013 at 5:06 AM #

    Let me first just say,,,, I actually laughed out loud then tried to get my husband to laugh when I read aloud the first few lines on your post. Needless to say, all I got was a “Oh.” He doesnt understand, but I do! Hang in there it will get better!

  6. quiltedhappiness January 9, 2013 at 4:23 PM #

    HI Gina, that was funny! And yes, I expanded my page to check your points and they still looked pretty good! I get days when all I seem to do is swear at my machine and my language gets more and more colourful every minute! Hopen tomorrow is better! -Suzy

Leave a Reply

