An Announcement

4 Jan

No, I’m not pregnant! Sheesh… This is a different kind of announcement.

I have been selected by Quiltmaker magazine to be a member of their 2013 Scrap Squad! Woot! Woot!

Now, 3/4 of my readers are saying, “What?”

The Quiltmaker Scrap Squad is a group of 7 quilters chosen to test and interpret a pattern from an upcoming issue of Quiltmaker magazine. Here’s how it works. We are sent a pattern. We each ask ourselves, “How would I make this pattern using scraps from my stash?” Then you make that quilt, documenting your process as you go along. Hey, guess what? I do that anyway! I rarely make a pattern exactly like the book or magazine shows. The only difference is that I won’t be able to blog about it on my blog. I’ll have to keep it under wraps until I reveal my interpretation on the Quiltmaker blog. I am allowed to drop little hints though.

So here’s my little hint: I am making my first quilt pattern in earth tones. Yep… Surprise, surprise there, huh? I know I make a lot of quilts in earth tones. But that is what’s in my stash and scrap bin, and I am comfortable with that color scheme for my first go at this process.

I’m off to make a bazillion 1/2 square triangles. Later!

3 Responses to “An Announcement”

  1. mosaicthinking January 4, 2013 at 7:48 PM #

    Sounds like fun. I love it when quilt books show different interpretations of the same pattern. Are there any rules like ‘no yardage allowed’?

    • ginaquilts January 4, 2013 at 8:16 PM #

      No – I think I can have a consistent theme fabric or background. I think, like you said, they just want different, scrappy interpretations of the same patterns.

  2. Ruthie January 8, 2013 at 9:28 PM #

    Congratulations! I know you’ll enjoy being a member of the Scrap Squad. I was a member of the first Scrap Squad in 2011.

Leave a Reply

