Tumbling Blocks

28 Dec

I’ve been working on finishing my tumbling blocks quilt top. I have 3 rows to go.

20121228-110155.jpg

First, I have failed to previously identify the book that the pattern is in.

20121228-110007.jpg

I purchased this book specifically for the cover quilt! Tumbling blocks is one of my top ten – even top 5 – of all quilt patterns. This book uses jelly rolls but I don’t purchase jelly rolls because I have a whole bin of 2.5″ strips that can and should be used. So I knew I could reproduce the quilt using the scraps I had on hand. I did use a consistent light fabric. It’s essential to the way the blocks are created. And although it looks like this scrappy is of the “everything but the kitchen sink” variety, it really is not. As soon as I decided this top was doable, I limited my palette to these colors.

20121228-110555.jpg
Orange, blue, brown, red, black, green, purple (although the picture doesn’t look purple, does it?)

Okay, so that’s almost every color! No yellows, or teal/aquas, no red violets… So some colors are missing.

I also tried to pair the medium fabric up with its matching dark like in the last picture. Sometimes I didn’t just to shake things up a bit. 🙂

This top should be done today or at least this weekend. I have been toying with the idea of hand quilting this top because it will be small – 60 x 66. Maybe…

11 Responses to “Tumbling Blocks”

  1. Karen December 28, 2012 at 11:18 AM #

    Nice!

    • ginaquilts December 28, 2012 at 2:46 PM #

      Thanks!

  2. Lee December 28, 2012 at 11:38 AM #

    It’s beautiful! And thank you for posting the pattern source, a new book for my wish list 🙂

  3. mosaicthinking December 28, 2012 at 2:27 PM #

    I’d love to make a tumbling blocks quilt. Yours is lovely.

    • ginaquilts December 28, 2012 at 2:45 PM #

      This pattern is very easy because it takes out the set in seams. Try it!

      • mosaicthinking December 28, 2012 at 2:55 PM #

        Hmmm….birthday coming up soon. Might put that book on my wish list. Only problem is, I’m not sure there are any other quilts in that book that I need their instructions to make. What do you think? Do you plan to make any of the other quilts in the book?

      • ginaquilts December 28, 2012 at 3:41 PM #

        I might make North By Northwest. Im hesitant because of the 1000+ half square triangles! None of the other patterns appeal to me though. I think I bought the book through Connecting Threads at 40% off.

      • mosaicthinking December 28, 2012 at 4:15 PM #

        Thanks – that’s all good to know. I guess one option is to buy the book and then pop it on eBay when I’ve made the tumbling blocks quilt. And I completely agree, the thought of 1000+ HSTs makes me want to take to my bed 😉

  4. Cathi December 28, 2012 at 4:19 PM #

    Gorgeous! I’ve wanted to make a Tumbling Block quilt for ages and, after seeing your post, I decided to start one using all the diamonds I had printed.

    • ginaquilts December 28, 2012 at 6:45 PM #

      Great! I may piece a wall hanging with Inklingo someday. I need to finish my hexagon flowers top first though.

  5. craftandchat December 28, 2012 at 7:42 PM #

    Absolutely amazing!

Leave a Reply

