A Little Of This And That

14 Dec

I finally finished binding DJ’s quilt and it went on his bed with new linens today.

20121214-133057.jpg
I had to wait until today to put it on his bed because he doesn’t like change and is afraid the new quilt will throw off his mojo or something strange like that. I’ll have to listen to about a week’s worth of “what was wrong with my old one?” before he will embrace this one as his own. He’s weird like that. I’m used to it.

I added a couple more rows to the tumbling blocks top – and fixed the clunker block.

20121214-133348.jpg
Not everything is sewn in yet. It’s getting better and better.

I’m up to date on the mystery clues for both mysteries but have no pictures.

20121214-133424.jpg

My daughters and I like to put together puzzles. I found the one above at Target! It’s our winter break project.

And finally, I dug out my old sewing machine. This machine belonged to my grandfather’s first wife. He was married to a woman who passed away then met and married my grandmother. My grandmother didn’t sew but she passed it to my mom – her first daughter-in-law (and favorite). My mom used this machine for 20+ years – maybe even 30! It’s the machine I learned to sew on in junior high and high school. My mom gave it to me a few years ago.

20121214-133808.jpg

It hasn’t been opened up in ages but sewed with perfect tension right away. I was surfing the net when I came across a similar machine with some history. It was made by the same company that made Singer sewing machines. I believe by the serial number that it was made in 1947. That time frame sounds about right. It’s in good shape. I’m going to oil it up and clean it up and use it. Why not? I should give it a name like Bonnie Hunter does to her old machines. My mom couldn’t remember my grandfather’s first wife’s name. They called her Sis or Sissy, she thinks. My grandfather’s name was Louie. Maybe I should name the machine one of those names. What do you think?

5 Responses to “A Little Of This And That”

  1. Sonia December 14, 2012 at 6:06 PM #

    I really like DJ’s quilt. Wow, that sewing machine brings back memories. Just think of all the outfits mom made us on that machine. Yours red, mine blue. And those head scarfs we had to wear in the spring LOL!

  2. antarabesque December 14, 2012 at 7:15 PM #

    Lovely quilt, thanks for sharing.

  3. Rachaeldaisy December 16, 2012 at 4:44 AM #

    I love the new quilt, it looks wonderful on the bed. How special to have a sewing machine that has been passed through the family. I always name my sewing machines. Sissy is a fun name.

  4. Karen December 22, 2012 at 9:44 AM #

    I love your scrappy quilts. Neat sewing machine yes it looks a lot like a featherweight doesn’t it. So nice to have it pass down through the family.

  5. gpicone January 11, 2013 at 4:45 PM #

    Great work!

Leave a Reply

