Suessical the Musical Jr.

9 Dec

The kids in the junior high will be performing Suessical the Musical Jr this year as their musical/play.  BOTH my kids are trying out and BOTH want to be Cat in the Hat.  Yeah… not good…  For the good of the family atmosphere it would be best if neither made it for that part but got equally wonderful OTHER roles.  I have a feeling that’s not going to be the case though.  I’m working with both of them separately on their auditions.  I am not a singer but the scripts came with the music and score so I can play it on the piano to help with getting them in key and on the correct note.  The tryouts are next week.  I think we’ll know by Friday if they get a part and which one they get.  I’m hoping for ???  I don’t know what I’m hoping for.  This is the first time they are in head-to-head competition for something.  Ugh.

I have only worked on the Glint mystery quilt.  I have 20 blocks to put together.  Here are 17 on my design wall.

SONY DSC

It’s different.  I like it.  Again, she has put a 3×3 block with a 4×4 block so my quilt police brain has a hard time balancing that because points don’t line up.  But maybe that’s a good thing, right?

I hesitated to do this in scrappy because I wasn’t sure it would turn out.  I went with a common background fabric.  The blue fabric specs said either light or medium blue.  I used light AND medium blues.  I’ve been thinking all along that might be a mistake, but I like the variety it brought to the quilt.  The border around the star edges is all one fabric because, when the specs said to cut 7 strips of blue and 7 strips of white, I guessed that they might be used together.  So that adds a bit of uniformity to the blocks also.

I’m assuming this is the final layout but that will be released next week.  She has optional pieced borders with the last clue also.

Okay – time to make up a few finals.  Next week, I have classes on Monday and Tuesday.  Then I have finals on Thursday and the following Monday and I’m done.  It seems like an easy schedule but I’ll be in every day grading and going to meetings.  I draw the line next Tuesday though.  It will be my last day before break. 🙂  Like that’s going to happen…

4 Responses to “Suessical the Musical Jr.”

  1. mosaicthinking December 9, 2012 at 2:23 PM #

    Love that quilt pattern. Is there a link to it?

    • ginaquilts December 9, 2012 at 3:40 PM #

      It’s a mystery going on right now at the Yahoo! Group called “Mystery Quilts 4Military”. Join the group and you can have access to all the clues. She puts on about 4 mysteries a year. Check it out at groups.yahoo.com.

      Gina

      • mosaicthinking December 10, 2012 at 1:12 AM #

        Thanks so much – will do.

  2. bsburgess December 9, 2012 at 4:12 PM #

    Wow, I really, really like the quilt pattern. Who can resist a RWB quilt?

Leave a Reply

