A Lot Of Sewing!

25 Nov

My elbow feels like it’s going to fall off. I really over did the sewing this weekend! Here is what got done:

20121125-124429.jpg
192 four-patches for the Easy Street mystery.

20121125-124511.jpg
DJ’s quilt got quilted in a baptist fan pattern. For such an easily pieced quilt, it was pretty wonky! I don’t know how I managed that! I purchased the backing from Joann’s on Friday. Yes… You read that correctly. I went to Joann’s on Black Friday. What was I thinking? I didn’t want to piece a back – too lazy. So I calculated that I needed exactly 2 2/3 yards so that’s what I purchased. See the problem? I didn’t allow for shrinkage nor the wonky cutting that they always do at Joann’s, so I ended up SHORT! I had to chop off a side (since it was 100+” wide) and piece a strip to another side. See? Had to piece anyway!

20121125-125209.jpg
That’s the Women’s Rights’ next block. i think it’s block #14. It was simpler than most. I could machine piece it.

20121125-125307.jpg
I added a few mindless bow tie blocks to this scrappy quilt top. I almost have another row completed.

20121125-125348.jpg
And finally, both my 14yo and my 11yo had friends over last night. Dan and I sat in the living room alone and tried to find a movie to watch. I got out the tin of hexagons and pieced a couple of flowers quickly. We decided to play Gin Rummy instead. I won… 🙂

One Response to “A Lot Of Sewing!”

  1. Rachaeldaisy November 26, 2012 at 2:12 AM #

    You got all that done on the weekend!?! Wow! The baptist fans look great on the Plaid Quilt. I recently bought some wide backing for a quilt that I haven’t quilted yet and I felt a bit like it was cheating because I wasn’t piecing it, it would be funny if I had a similar experience to you. That really made me giggle. Those bow ties are looking so good!!

Leave a Reply

