I Survived

23 Nov

I survived Thanksgiving.  The food was good; the company was good.  Many of the people who come to my house on the holidays are not very close to us anymore so we only see them on the holidays. I really didn’t get a chance to sit and talk with them to catch up at all.  We went right from cooking to eating to cleaning up.  And then before you knew it, everyone was gone.

Here are some pictures of my immediate family from yesterday.

My two daughters – Mia and Gianna

My oldest son, Cory, being a goofball on the gymnastic rings

DJ and I were discussing who was going to get hurt first – Cory or Gianna – with their acrobatics.

DJ, Cory, and Anne writing what they are thankful for.

That was about all the photos that I took that actually turned out!  Oh well.  I’ll have to take the time to take more at the future holidays.

I was feeling guilty about starting Bonnie Hunter’s mystery quilt today since I already have so many projects in progress.  So I sewed a bit last night after everyone left and again this morning and wha-la!  The plaid quilt top is done!

88 x 88

I’m going to try to piece the backing and actually even get it loaded on the longarm this weekend.  DJ has a bed with drawers where the box springs usually are.  So this smaller size actually works well for his room.  I’m just going to quilt an allover pattern on it.

So that leaves me with:

  • the Mystery for Military quilts (next clue was posted today)
  • Bonnie Hunter’s mystery quilt (started today.  I have 40 of the about 200 four-patches completed)
  • Barbara Brackman’s Women’s Rights quilt (one block per week – next one is posted tomorrow)
  • Bow ties

Nothing else is in the “active” category!  🙂  Although there are a lot of UFOs that could be pulled out and began… again…

I need to add to the list that my oldest daughter wants a tree skirt.  We purchased the fabric.  She is an “immediate gratification” person so she wanted to start this yesterday afternoon but I was too tired.  I think I’ll get a phone call some time this weekend and she’ll want to come over and have my full attention on that project.

2 Responses to “I Survived”

  1. bsburgess November 23, 2012 at 6:19 PM #

    The plaid quilt is SO awesome! I’m sure DJ will like it.

  2. Rachaeldaisy November 25, 2012 at 4:01 AM #

    Great to hear you survived Thanksgiving. , It’s nice that you had your family around. I love your plaid quilt!! such a great collection of wonderful plaids!

Leave a Reply

