Third Time’s A Charm?

20 Nov

I’m having a heck of a time with the Amethyst block for the Women’s Rights quilt!  The first time, the pdf didn’t print the templates the correct size and it was like a D cup bra.  I threw that one away without a picture.  This time, I drafted the block by hand.  I created freezer paper templates and pieced it by machine.  After I starched it to within an ounce of its life, it’s kind of okay.

It’s a 1/4″ short across the bottom and I scorched it with the iron on the lower right side there.  I think if I try it ONE MORE TIME, but hand piece it, it will go better.  If not, I’ll take this one.
BTW, the red setting squares won.  Three of the four of us picked red in this house.  So I started putting together the top from both ends.

I’ll just keep making blocks and putting them up on the design wall.  When I get enough for a row, I’ll sew it together and attach.  When I’m sick of it, I’ll put in the middle row and the top will be done.

EDIT:  Yep – hand piecing did the trick.

Leave a Reply

