Design Wall Monday

12 Nov

Okay… okay… I started a new project (or two).  But I couldn’t resist!  The first one is from the Mystery Quilts for Military Yahoo! group.  She posts a clue a week and the sewing is short and sweet and easy to do (usually).  She says this quilt top is “advanced beginner” so it should be doable.  She’s on clue #2 – the first sewing clue (Clue #1 – selecting fabric and cutting) .  This weekend I pieced 160 1/2-square triangles. Forty will finish at 1.5″ and 120 will finish at 2″.

Image

Every time I sat down at the sewing machine I either pieced 10-20 or sized them.  It went quickly.  I have 20 left to size and that’s done for the week. New clues are posted on Fridays – just in time for weekend sewing.

The other project I started is from Barbara Brackman’s Grandmother’s Choice website/blog. She is posting a block a week to celebrate women’s right to vote.  It’s so interesting!  She tells a story each week about a woman or a group of women and their struggle for rights.  I know I learned about this in grade school and high school, but I think I appreciate history (in general) so much more now that I’m older.  She has 11 blocks posted so far and I’ve pieced 8 completely and have another one half finished.

Image

Surprise, surprise!  It’s in red and white.  Kona Cotton white with scrappy reds.  Take a look at that sunflower block!

Image

I’m exceptionally proud of that block because I hand pieced it using templates!  🙂  These are only 8″ blocks so those inner petals were itty-bitty – like tip of your finger sized!  I am going to applique it onto the background fabric and reverse applique the center.  The blocks in general are kind of difficult – a lot of 1/16″ measurements and some set in seams.  But I like a challenge now and then.  You know I won’t do all of them – but a few missing here and there won’t kill me.  If I set them on point, and add sashing and borders, it will be a decent sized quilt.  Check out her website linked above.  It’s cool.

Today I have off in celebration of Veteran’s Day.  My kids do not.  I am going to TRY to grade and clean my house.  I started this weekend composing a “preparation for Thanksgiving cleaning” list.  Ugh…  I cleaned out one refrigerator and will tackle the other one now.  I also need to organize the pantry today and continue with the never ending supply of laundry.  I need to start cleaning the spare bedroom.

That’s on my schedule.  Now – we’ll have to see what actually gets done!  (When is the plaid quilt going to get finished?  Soon… I hope… )

One Response to “Design Wall Monday”

  1. Oh Sew Tempting November 12, 2012 at 2:04 PM #

    Beautiful blocks! Thanks for sharing 🙂 Avis x

Leave a Reply

