Friday Facts

2 Nov

1. My daughter was high scorer for her team in her basketball game again last night. The score was 17-1. We were the 1. Nuff said there…

2. I managed to get all 25 of my plaid blocks done! Now I need to work on the sashing strips. I need 120 of the 6.5″ x 3.5″ strips. That’s nuts. I prefer to think that I need 60 of the units that consist of two of those strips plus a nine patch.  That’s doable.  (Really?  Doable is a word?  Spell check says so – it must be.)

3. I think I need a million of those nine patches.  I didn’t count those up.

4. Apparently just saying you’re on Weight Watchers doesn’t actually make you lose weight. You have to actually follow the diet plan. Who knew? Darn….

5.  My kids’ school ended the 9 week quarter on October 19.  However, they decided to have a 10 week quarter.  Okay…. weird but I’m game.  So that ended on October 26.  Parent-teacher conferences are  USUALLY scheduled immediately following this end so we can make adjustments, see last year’s state testing scores, etc.  When are ours scheduled this year?  The week of Thanksgiving!  WHAT?  If my children were struggling (which they are not), I’d want to know sooner rather than later – wouldn’t you? We’ll be halfway through the second quarter.  Why do it like this? Is it conducive to the student learning environment?  I think we all know the answer to that.  I scheduled mine separately, early next week.  Because I’m ornery like that.  Gianna is getting a 116% in math.  I think we need to see if we can’t move her up a grade like they did with DJ.  Or at least challenge her a bit / accelerate her.  IEP (Individual Education Plan) applies to high end students as well as low end ones.  We’ll see how that goes. ::eye roll::

6.  BTW – there’s no emoticon for eye roll.  There should be.

7.  I started knitting a quick and easy decorative scarf.  🙂  I’ve knitted it before.  It’s called the One Row Scarf.  I previously knitted it with a pretty goldenrod yarn that I dyed with Kool Aid.  The yarn was from a Goodwill sweater that I unraveled.  This time around I’m knitting it even lacier with a sock yarn that’s a denim / tweed color.  I’d show you a picture but I didn’t take one yet.

TTFN – Gotta work!

3 Responses to “Friday Facts”

  1. shannon November 2, 2012 at 11:41 AM #

    weight watchers, hehe…

    there’s needs to be a sarcasm font too….

  2. Heather November 6, 2012 at 6:49 AM #

    Hi Gina, you commented on my blog and asked about a pattern but you are a no reply blogger so I am answering here. The pattern for the black, white and green basket quilt is called Trick or Treat and is in the book “As the Cold Wind Blows” by Barb Adams and Alma Allen of Blackbird Designs. Hope this helps. 🙂

    • ginaquilts November 6, 2012 at 3:34 PM #

      Thank you for sending me the email. I didn’t know I was a no reply blogger. I’ll have to fix that!

      Gina

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

