Optical Illusion

16 Oct

I know it SEEMS like I’ve been piecing, but it’s really an optical illusion.  🙂

I only pieced a bit to see if I liked the pattern.  I do.  I’m cutting the rest of the week.

Future plaid project

My sister made a quilt from a pattern similar to this.  She gave it to a friend and named it…. ready for it?  “I’m plaid we’re friends!”.  LOL

I don’t have a picture of the finished quilt any more.  I don’t know what I did with it.  I also don’t have the pattern.  So I figured I’d use 6″ finished squares of plaid with 3″ sashing (1″ + 1″ + 1″).  I can piece them together in 15″ blocks and put them together that way.

I’m going through the plaids now and cutting away for the rest of the week.

I also bought a flying geese ruler.  Remember how I hate piecing flying geese?  This ruler should make all the difference!   I played a bit.

 

And still hate piecing them!

Not a single one is perfect.  They are pretty darned good but not because of the ruler.  The ruler was kind of a pain in the butt actually.

What do you do with experimental pieces?  Do you just throw them away?  I have leftover pieces from quilts and these experiments laying all over.  I can’t seem to part with them.  I need to.

3 Responses to “Optical Illusion”

  1. Nancy October 17, 2012 at 9:17 AM #

    HI Gina,

    Love the plaids. Are they from recycled shirts? I just got a ton of shirts from Good Will and look forward to working with them.

    I save my orphan blocks and samples. I have pieced some in a backing for a quilt and have made tote bags out of orpan blocks. I know Bonnie uses hers to piece some really wild backings for her quilts.

    Happy Wednesday from Sunny SC

    Nancy

    • ginaquilts October 17, 2012 at 11:31 AM #

      The fabrics are mostly from garage sales, Goodwill, and my boys’ shirts. Some are homespuns that have been around forever in my stash. It’s addicting to go to Goodwill and search for the XL 1/2 price mens shirts! I really hit the jackpot when I spied a church garage sale on their last day and they had a sign that said “Fill a bag for 50 cents!”

      ________________________________

  2. Sonia October 17, 2012 at 6:30 PM #

    The plaid pattern is from the Nickel book. I think the 2nd one. The only way to make flying geese is paper piecing. Perfect, perfect, perfect! I’m plaid you’re my sister 😉

Leave a Reply

