225

15 Oct

225 3″ nine-patch blocks! 

Image

It’s 65″ x 65″.  I love how it’s totally random scrappy which is really hard for me.  I have lots of clusters of reds together and that’s okay.  It’s a stash quilt and I have a lot of red fabric.  I tried to just piece random strips and join them together when I had enough for a row. 

I really like this quilt.  However, now I’m in quite a pickle.  I finished my hand quilting project.  I finished my machine piecing project.  I finished my leader ender project.  I DON’T HAVE A PROJECT!

Luckily, we all know that’s not true.  I have to quilt all these.  This top needs borders (probably).  I have around 5 gazillion UFOs I could tackle (BTW, I’ve been thinking about dragging Jane out of storage.  Where am I on that quilt?  Could I set the blocks on point and be done with that?  How about alternating hour glass blocks?)  I could applique the above said borders.  (I might be tired and jumping around in my thoughts/writing here.)

Here’s the plan.  I’m going to turn off my sewing machine for a week a day a week.  I can do that, right?  That’s allowed.  I’m pretty sure the quilt police won’t knock on my door and tell me to fire it up.  I’m going to organize my wreck of a sewing room (again – it’s a never ending wreck).  I’m going cut out pieces for my next project ahead of time and organize my stash and strips (again – another never ending project).  I’m going to make some backs … wait… how am I going to do that without my sewing machine on?  Okay – I can turn it on for that sewing only.

And just to warn you… this cooler weather is making me want to knit hats… and scarves…  Knitting season is just around the corner.

4 Responses to “225”

  1. mosaicthinking October 15, 2012 at 10:38 PM #

    Yeah, the quilting. Sigh… Sorry to say it’s still a project until it’s backed, sandwiched, quilted and bound.

    I love your scrappy nine patches on point. I’m working on a scrappy nine patch myself and I fear mine is going to look a lot more pedestrian.

  2. Sonia October 16, 2012 at 5:05 PM #

    Love, love, love the cheddar quilt! “Better with Cheddar” should be the name 😉 Nooooo, not knitting!

    • ginaquilts October 16, 2012 at 5:36 PM #

      Love the quilt name! That’s why I keep you around – for you quick wit!

      ________________________________

  3. sewfrench October 17, 2012 at 7:03 PM #

    Love the yellow! Reminds me of a quilt I used to snuggle on at my Grandma’s long, long ago. Hers wasn’t cheddar, more of a sunflower. You have inspired me. I need to do one of these with a colorful background fabric!

Leave a Reply

