A New Project

30 Sep

I’ve been buying plaid shirts at Goodwill for $1.75 and saving my husband and son’s plaid shirts specifically to make a plaid quilt for DJ, my 14yo son.  I’ve been going through magazines and books, the Internet, everywhere and anywhere to find the perfect pattern for him.  Well, forget about the perfect pattern.  Every one that I present to him, he gets a funny look on his face and says something that he doesn’t like about the pattern.  “Circles don’t go with plaids….”  “Stars don’t look right…..” SOMETHING!  It all boils down to one thing though.  “What’s the matter with the one I’ve got on my bed?”  DJ is so resistent to change. 

So I decided to make a plaid quilt that I like and if he happens to approve it for his bed, then that’s great. If not, we will use it somewhere in the house.  Right?  Now, what pattern?

I began making Ohio Stars.

Image

Why Ohio Stars?  Because I can kick out 15 of them lickety split – like I did yesterday!  🙂  I enjoy this star the most out of all the stars that are commonly pieced.  I don’t like variable stars because I don’t like making flying geese units.  I love making hour glass blocks though.  After that, it’s just an easy peasy nine patch! 

If I make one of every plaid fabric I currently have, I’ll have twenty something (I think). Not all the plaids are shirts – some are from purchased fabric.  How will I set them?  I don’t know yet.  I’m leaning towards an on point setting with plaid sashing.  (BTW, I need more green plaid.  Doesn’t anyone buy green plaid shirts?  Or do they just love them so much they don’t give them to Goodwill or sell them at garage sales?) 

The background fabrics are scappy creams without a distinguishable print.  I’m low on those too.  I can feel an online fabric shopping spree coming on.

What about the hand quilting project?  Well….  it appears that I was over ambitious in my hand quilting earlier in the week and have a quilting elbow injury as a result.  My form must not be right because I’ve been feeling tendonitis in my LEFT elbow.  I don’t use a hoop and the quilting needle is in my right hand.  So the only thing I can figure out is that I squeeze/grip the fabric too tightly with my left hand and don’t let it stretch out enough.  Or ??? I don’t know what else it could be! 

Anyway, I only quilted 1/2 hour today and nothing yesterday on that wall hanging.  It is coming along though.

Image

Image

I will continue to stretch and ice my elbow and hand quilt in moderation. 🙂  Whatever moderation means…

2 Responses to “A New Project”

  1. mosaicthinking September 30, 2012 at 2:32 PM #

    I love Ohio stars. Set them on point (and I’m not suggesting you should do this) and you get a completely different look. Goodwill prices here in Australia are generally higher than in the US (as are prices for new clothes) so I read about people cutting fabric out of Goodwill shirts but it’s not really something I would consider for myself.

  2. Sonia October 1, 2012 at 9:51 AM #

    I think I have some plaids that I’ll bring to you this Wednesday. Nice hand quilting 🙂

Leave a Reply

