Fall Wallhanging

23 Sep

I finished the applique on the fall wall hanging.  I basted it on my long arm and now I’m big-stitch quilting it.  Here’s the far away picture.

I’m trying to eyeball the 1/4″ echo quilting and I’m not doing so well.  I stopped to see if I can tolerate it and keep going or need to rip it out.

See?  It’s not bad but not perfect.  Even the above picture I can live with.  But when you really look closely…

… it’s kind of crappy.
Gianna says it’s just fine because I’m doing the big-stitch quilting so it’s supposed to look primitive.  I think I’m going to get ruler out and mark the next block and see if it’s better.  If so, then maybe I need to rip out what I’ve done and make it perfect.  If not, I’ll keep going.

I’m slow at quilting by hand.  That’s about 2 hours worth right there!  This will get done around Christmas after all!

15 Responses to “Fall Wallhanging”

  1. Sonia September 23, 2012 at 5:27 PM #

    I love it! Keep going, it looks really nice.

  2. diana purdy September 24, 2012 at 6:18 AM #

    I’m with Sonia, it looks great, keep going, nobody but you is going to stare at the stitching,
    they look at the piece as a whole, and when it’s done you’ll be happy!

  3. Jan Przybylski September 24, 2012 at 6:41 AM #

    Looks great to me. Keep up the good work.

  4. Julie - Me & My Stitches September 24, 2012 at 6:43 AM #

    I don’t think it’s crappy at all! It looks great…keep going!

  5. Terry September 24, 2012 at 6:51 AM #

    Don’t rip it out!!!…looks great!

  6. Charon September 24, 2012 at 7:18 AM #

    It is lovely, please leave it just as it is. I love the colors.

  7. Lynda from Chicago September 24, 2012 at 8:37 AM #

    As my brother said to my niece when she noticed the misspelling of MY last name in a piece made for her. “Nothing in life is perfect.” A saying that is worth living by, and I do, in order not to drive one’s self crazy. Keep on doing what you are doing it will improve with time, and patience.

  8. Eileen September 24, 2012 at 8:46 AM #

    It does look good. Like mine about 40 years ago. What I do for the 1/4 in. is use the tape. It takes tinme to apple but a little at a time will do wonders.. But finish now what you have started.

  9. Ele W. September 24, 2012 at 8:51 AM #

    “Big stitch” hand quilting does look strange, until you get more of it done on a quilt, so hang in there and please leave the stitches, they look great. I have been hand quilting for lots of years and the hardest one for me to do is the “big stitch”, because I usually use regular quilting. I used the big stitch on a flannel quilt, using crochet cotton, and it just about drove me nuts, but the recipient loved it!!!

  10. Nancy September 24, 2012 at 12:05 PM #

    It looks terrific. I think the folksy quitting stitches are perfect with your colors and design. Keep up the good work, and most of all enjoy the process.
    Nancy in sunny SC

  11. Carolyn Edwards September 24, 2012 at 7:21 PM #

    I love it. I think it looks really good. Please don’t take your stitches out. Carolyn

  12. ncutt September 24, 2012 at 8:31 PM #

    Looks great!

  13. Ramona M September 24, 2012 at 9:46 PM #

    keep going as is, looks great!

  14. craftingismybliss September 26, 2012 at 8:53 AM #

    Beautiful, just beautiful.

  15. Wendy September 26, 2012 at 12:37 PM #

    It’s not crappy … it’s scrappy and it’s fabulous!

Leave a Reply

