Design Wall Sunday

16 Sep

I’m going to be traveling to a meeting tomorrow so won’t be able to post my design wall.  Therefore, I’m doing it today.

The most important thing is that the Christmas quilt top is DONE!

Image

Before you say, “Yuck!  I don’t like those light borders!”, they will be quilted fancy-smancy and I’m going to try a scalloped edge with striped bias binding.  I think it will look fine.  It turned out bigger than I planned – 81 x 81ish.  🙂

My actual design wall has the modern mystery quilt blocks for Clue #1 done and my leader/ender project on it.

Image

I have to redo one of the blocks for the mystery quilt. After I double-checked the specs, the blocks should measure between 14″-17″ in width and I had it in my head that they could be as small as 12″.  So the darker purple one there needs to be longer.  I also might shave a bit off the height on a couple so the size is varied a bit more. 

The next clue comes out on Wednesday.  I’m not going to start anything new until after Clue #2 is finished.  I haven’t decided whether or not to piece a backing for the Christmas quilt or to buy a wide back.  I want to start quilting it this weekend.

So what will the next project be?  Well… I’m going to finish a UFO first.  I have two quilts that only need borders.  Then I was planning on starting a quilt for my son’s bed in plaids.  But I don’t have a pattern picked out yet and I’m not sure I have enough plaids. 

I don’t have a Halloween wall hanging for my office.  I could whip up some applique pumpkins in time for October I’m sure.

So I don’t know.  I need to completely finish a few things and then I’ll decide I guess.

I’m off to a meeting tonight at the state capital and won’t be back until later tomorrow night.  Marathon Monday takes on a whole new meeting this week as it bleeds into my Sunday!  I will bring my hexies or my unfinished socks to work on in the hotel tonight.

One Response to “Design Wall Sunday”

  1. domichcreations February 24, 2014 at 6:39 AM #

    Gina, I am so impressed with all that you do. I sew also & make lap quilts & baby quilts. It is very hard to work on the large ones without the space to spread out as we all need to.You do awesome work. Thank you for your information & pictures. I salute you , you are a very busy lady Thank you Donna Su

Leave a Reply

