Design Wall Monday

10 Sep

I was planning on finishing the Christmas quilt on the left this weekend, but I’m stuck on borders.  It measures 60″ x 60″ as is so I need a few borders to make it lap sized.  Any ideas?

My 3″ nine-patch leader/ender quilt is coming along nicely also.  The size is enough for a baby quilt if I choose to make it one.  I think I’ll keep going because it’s so easy and when I choose to stop I’ll just add a center row and some borders and be done with it.

My left elbow is very sore today.  It could be from softball, binding, or cleaning house that I did yesterday.  Yeah.. cleaning house!  That’s what I thought too!  The other two I do all the time, so they can’t be the culprit.  I’m going to have to cut that house cleaning out entirely.  It’s bad for my health.

Speaking of cleaning… when I was cleaning the basement, I came across this wall hanging.  I quilted it up in May when I started quilting again after a 2 year hiatus.  But I never got around to binding it.  So I sat down yesterday and bound and sleeved the piece.  I’m taking it into my office today.  It’s time to switch up the wall hangings in my office.

It’s about 40″ x 40″

I just played with the fill – trying to remember how I used to do custom quilting. It turned out pretty well.

 

3 Responses to “Design Wall Monday”

  1. Becky in KCMO September 10, 2012 at 8:26 AM #

    Beautiful quilting!! Love the stars. On the star borders – I usually try to “finish” Irish chains by making half blocks all the way around the quilt with something in the corners after I figure out the other blocks. They work over both the stars and the chain blocks. It ends up adding about another block of width and height, then I do a final straight border of the background to frame it all. You can keep adding straight borders of the other colors after that if you still need size. Just a thought!

    Definitely let go of the cleaning. I’m sure it’s the culprit!

  2. Linda September 10, 2012 at 1:50 PM #

    I don’t have any suggestions but I sure do like your Christmas blocks. I’m sure what ever you decide on will be lovely. Great quilting on that wall hanging.

  3. laurie September 11, 2012 at 4:34 AM #

    I would carry the chain into the border…but that will be a challenge too. How about the alternate squares being a different color background but that would involve some unpicking… I love the colors for all three quilts. It is surely time to bring out the autumn quilts! Wishful thinking mostly here in the south though.

Leave a Reply

