Why I Have So Many UFOs

8 Sep

Why is it that I think my blocks are absolutely perfect but when you start to put the flimsy top together, you find that’s not true!  That’s why I have so many UFOs!  I hate putting blocks together… it takes all the wind out of my sails.  It becomes, “Oh well… just another quilt with mistakes.”

But the center of the quilt is done and it measures 60.5″ x 60.5″ unfinished.

That size is good for a middle.  I need to move on to the borders.  Decision time again.  What kind of borders?  How many?  Pieced or just plain fabric?  I rarely work from a pattern so I never know what I want to do til I get to that step.

The leader/ender project is going well.

It’s definitely scrappy!  It’s going together fine – unlike the first one!  Maybe it’s the small pieces.  Maybe that’s easier to work with than the larger ones.  Who knows?

We started cleaning the basement as a family today.  It’s a never ending processes.  But my sewing area is getting a thorough cleaning.  Dan raised my cutting table up about 6″ with PVC pipe.  I’m off to buy a new ironing board that’s stable – or at least more stable than my 25 year old one that’s been tipped over a million times!

4 Responses to “Why I Have So Many UFOs”

  1. Sonia September 8, 2012 at 6:09 PM #

    I really love your Christmas quilt top. I’m voting for a border that’s background and has the small squares jetting into the border with a small red border after that followed by background border.

  2. Sartenada September 9, 2012 at 12:39 AM #

    UFOs ? Well, I do not know what You mean with the word UFO in quilts. My wife who has been quilting some years ago never used that word.

    Check my post:

    I visited a “UFO”

    all my quilting posts.

    Finnish quilts

    Your quilt has lovely colors and pattern. Happy quilting!

    • ginaquilts September 9, 2012 at 8:05 AM #

      UFO means unfinished object. I have a lot of quilt tops that just need borders or one final step.

  3. bertcollections September 10, 2012 at 5:49 AM #

    How about a plain border, flying geese and another plain border for the first quilt?

Leave a Reply

