Not Sure About This

3 Sep

I saw a picture of a pinwheel quilt top on someone’s blog and they made the chain pieces in a very light color so it recessed and didn’t compete with the pinwheels.  I liked that and thought I could do the same with this quilt.  But I’m not sure it’s working.  In person, the chains look more lime green than I’d like.

Decision time…. These are all I have cut out and pieced, so do I stick with it and piece the other nine?  Do I switch to … red?  I have enough of the red that’s in the quilt to make the switch.  Do I switch to another Christmas fabric in my stash that goes with these particular reds/greens?  Hmmm….   I’m going to have to stare at it for a while and see what I like.  What do you think?

12 Responses to “Not Sure About This”

  1. CarolE September 3, 2012 at 7:30 AM #

    I love the setting squares you made — but I’d probably save them for a different quilt and switch to one of your reds for this quilt. I’ll be curious to see what others think.

  2. Soscrappy September 3, 2012 at 7:30 AM #

    I like the alternate blocks. It is amazing how often blocks start looking like they go together as soon as they are sewn and quilted. Maybe the red would make a nice inner border?

  3. Sonia September 3, 2012 at 8:30 AM #

    Hmmm…maybe too recessed. What if you combined red with the pale green chain somehow?

  4. Jenn September 3, 2012 at 9:08 AM #

    I agree, the light green just doesn’t look quite right. I’d go with red or if yiu have it, the yellow that you’ve used in the pinwheels.

  5. Robin Gallagher September 3, 2012 at 9:57 AM #

    I like the light green but it feels less Christmasie. If you really want a Christmas quilt I switch to the red.

  6. Heather September 3, 2012 at 10:39 AM #

    I love the idea of the lighter Irish Chain in the background. Do you by any chance have more of the gold left from your blocks? That off white/gold combo may give you the effect you are looking for.

  7. Cathy Shepherd September 3, 2012 at 10:58 AM #

    I like the light green. It turns the star squares into…… well, the stars of the quilt. It looks like there is a lot of work in some of those stars, and this way they really show off.

  8. anniesquiltorts.blogspot.com September 3, 2012 at 11:12 AM #

    Beautiful blocks! I love the Irish chain and think the light color is fine, but would not have guessed this was a Christmas quilt. Maybe it will take all the blocks made and put in place before you decide for sure?

  9. Life in Pieces September 3, 2012 at 1:48 PM #

    I think Heather may be on to something, try the gold or maybe a shade darker green. Love your blocks and the setting style you’ve choosen.

  10. Jan Ochterbeck September 3, 2012 at 7:05 PM #

    I agree, I like the concept of the quieter chain blocks, but the lime maybe isn’t the right green. How about the cream-ground print you’ve used in some of your blocks, or something similar? Or a small allover cream & red print or cream & hunter green print. I don’t think solid red would give you the receding effect you’re after. Your concept is going to be beautiful and I love your pinwheel blocks!

  11. Julie in GA September 3, 2012 at 7:45 PM #

    I’m not wild about the lime green either, but love your design/plan. My top choice for a different color to try is a gold like you have in some of the blocks. The light print that is in some of your stars might give a very subtle effect.

  12. Gari September 4, 2012 at 6:41 AM #

    I love lime green but I would probably change this to something with a “fine” red print to go with the stars but not compete. Setting blocks are really hard and it sometimes is not easy to see how they are going to look until they are all sewn together.

Leave a Reply

