A Productive Weekend

2 Sep

We are having a productive weekend so far!  All four of us pitched in to clean the house and kicked it out in no time flat.  I only got mad once at my hubby during the process.  🙂  (Here’s that story:  He cleans everything with bleach.  He was in charge of our bathroom and when I came up to put laundry away, there was a wet rag laying ON MY QUILT on the bed!  See?  Justified, right?  Turns out it was rinsed a gazillion times and I washed the quilt right away and don’t see any bleach stains so far.)

Anyway, I attached the hexagon flowers.

Image

Image

Gianna really likes this quilt and said she might like it for her bed!  Queen-sized bed!  No way honey!  I can’t imagine how long it would take to make this queen-sized.  We’ll see… Lap-sized is my goal.

I also sewed another star.  It was torture!

Image

I made so many mistakes!  I think when I do a lot of something, I stop paying attention and just think I know what I’m doing.  Then once I screw up and try to follow the directions, it’s like I don’t know the first thing about sewing and have to double and triple check what it is I’m doing!  That last star took me an hour to sew together!  Luckily I was up at 4:30am to do it in the peace and quiet!

My shelving organization is as finished as it’s going to get.

Image

I like it and since my husband said it wouldn’t stay that way, I’m going out of my way to prove him wrong!   Hmmm… maybe that was his plan all along.

Unfortunately, I still have a lot of scraps to cut through.  Here are only some of them.

Image

I cut for a half hour a day – sometimes longer but I don’t seem to get through very much fabric!  I jammed the printer with the hexagon freezer paper sheets though.  I need to print more hexagons so Dan is going to look at that this morning and see what he can do to un-jam it.  I tried and made no headway!

We sat here this morning talking about the next major project around the house.  I think we’ve decided on the family room.  It is used as a music room and video gaming room the most.  Dan and I rarely (never) sit in there and watch movies or anything.  So why not turn it into a kids room?  It’s a possibility!

One Response to “A Productive Weekend”

  1. Sonia September 2, 2012 at 1:35 PM #

    Wow, the hexagon quilt top is coming along nicely. The one flower with the striped fabric is really cool. Are you sure you don’t have any purple quilts lying around? There’s quite a lot of purple in that bin.

Leave a Reply

