Things Are Better

24 Aug

I found my pass key for the classrooms.  It was stuck in a book.  We are offering our student lab assistant an unpaid internship which benefits both him and the college.  It will work while he gets his financial matters cleared up and can be hired by the college for money.

I ripped out the too small sock in question AND the too large sock in question and started the JUST RIGHT sock.

Plain boring self-striped yarn but it fits!  I like plain and boring for a travel or “wasted time” project.  I got about a 1/2″ knitted in the car while waiting to pick up the kids outside their school today.  It will take a month or more to finish these, but I’m not in a hurry.

I have three pairs of stars made now.

I’m not sure if I’ll keep the bottom left one in the mix.  We’ll see.  I’m going to sew 6 pairs of stars and one more complicated one by itself for the center.  Chains will connect them.  There will be 25 blocks all together.  How appropriate for a Christmas quilt, right?  I really like the gold fabric but, of course, I didn’t think I had enough to accent all stars with gold.  that’s why I chose the other busy, glitzy fabric for a change.  I like it too.  Just not as much as the gold.

In other news, my oldest son tried out for a community college baseball team yesterday.  He switched from Northern Illinois University (where he attended just last spring) to Parkland Community College.  He’s 24 3/4 🙂 and he said he was the oldest one at the walk-on tryout.  I’m sure that’s true.  Most boys/men were probably 18-19.  He tried out for a pitching position.  He’s a south paw and has been practicing all summer (inspired by his 11yo sister he says).  He said the tryout went well.  His curve ball and change up were right on target but his fast ball was high.  He said he was definitely in the best shape out of anyone trying out.  I believe that!  He has maintained his Army workouts and is in the best shape of his life.

Cory may not make the team but I give it to him for trying out.  His GPA was 3.5 at NIU.  I told him that he should talk to the coach and tell him that he’s on the GI Bill so adding him to the team doesn’t cost the school a scholarship or anything.  PLUS baseball players have to maintain academic eligibility for the fall semester and spring before the season starts.  It’s been my experience that many of these 18-19 year olds have a tough time with that.  So he might be an alternate if needed.  Right?  Even if he can practice with the team year-round, it will benefit him and keep him throwing throughout the winter months.

Tomorrow yields more cleaning and organizing of my sewing room!

One Response to “Things Are Better”

  1. Mom August 24, 2012 at 9:53 PM #

    You are right about the bottom left. when i went to put the fan away, that one just didn’t pop out like the rest of them. i don’t know if it’s the green background or what. but i think you are doing a great job…..

Leave a Reply

