Quilted and Bound!

3 Aug

Backing is leftovers from the blue fabric bin in the basement. My family doesn’t like scrappy backs but I do!  Plus I get to use up more fabric that is just sitting there waiting patiently to be used for something.

I used Hobbs Polydown batting.  I don’t particularly like that batting but it was the only white batting I had and I need to get rid of the rest of the roll.  I do like the dimension that the poly brings to the quilt though.  I LOVE the plaid bias binding even though it was a PITA to make.  🙂  I wasn’t successful in trying to make the scalloped edges.  I cut paper the size I needed but it was a wonky size and the corners were weird.  I decided to just get it done and I’ll mess with scalloped or wavy edges on a different quilt instead.

I like it.  It’s brighter than it looks (I have to get a picture in the sunlight instead of shade.)  However… the downside… if we keep it, the quilt will be covered in black Hawk hair all the time.

Gianna just stopped by my computer and said she is keeping this quilt and sleeping under it tonight.  I guess that is solved.

I loaded a baby quilt to be quilted.  Should have been a 1/2 hour job but 1.5 hours later and it’s still only partway done.  Thread breakage… tension issues… PITA!  It may be the next candidate for wavy/scalloped borders if I can every get it quilted!

3 Responses to “Quilted and Bound!”

  1. mosaicthinking August 3, 2012 at 4:33 PM #

    The overall look is terrific. I’m not always that fond of rounded corners on a quilt but they work really well on this one. Nice job!

  2. golftime1 August 5, 2012 at 4:38 PM #

    I really like this quilt. I think the rounded edges are perfect for this quilt. I like how the blocks look like “X’s” on some and squares on others. Great job and Gianna is picking up where Mia left off 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Giveaway | Gina Quilts and Knits - March 24, 2014

    […] I just looked! It was the summer of 2012 as seen by this blog entry! Where does the time go? I recently gave that quilt away actually. I should make another. […]

Leave a Reply

