Math Monday

4 Jun

Math rules my life and I get so distraught when I hear kids say that they hate math.  The world revolves around math and I would be lost without it.

Take today for instance.  Fractions:

  1. Only 12/20 or 3/5 of my students turned in their assignment today.  That’s a low percentage so I did some investigating and found out the college’s web site was down last night and the students didn’t know how to access the assignments directly.  I sent them email and extended the deadline to tonight.
  2. I allotted myself one hour to grade this morning.  I finished 8/12 or 2/3 of the grading in that time.  That told me that if I allocated another 1/2 hour later in the morning, I could get the rest done.  And I did.
  3. I allotted (or rewarded) myself one hour of machine piecing after I cleaned the house.  I only got TWO more rows of the Irish Chain quilt put together during that time.  I’m slow at putting tops together even though I can whip out blocks like crazy!  Fraction:  3/13 of the quilt top is put together in rows and 3/13 of the blocks are completed but still need to be sewn into rows.  7/13 of the blocks need to be done.  I’m almost half way done with this top center!  That’s a great feeling!

See what I mean?  I’m always timing myself to see how long it takes to quilt a row of a pantograph on a quilt and then estimating the completion time… or knitting an inch on a sweater…  Or hand piecing a flower (15 minutes BTW).  Then I can figure out how much time or how many days I can expect to keep working on the project.  It’s a motivator to keep me going.  I completed 80 flowers or so in May.  Can I push that to 90 in June?

I saw a post recently where a piecer was looking for the measurements of setting triangles on a lone star.  I found that when I taught mystery quilts, the piecers were many times lost on how to calculate simple (or what I think is simple) measurements if their pieced blocks didn’t come out to be exactly the size the pattern said.  That’s part of what I like about quilting.  Figuring stuff like that out!

Math rules!

2 Responses to “Math Monday”

  1. DAD June 4, 2012 at 4:15 PM #

    I do something similar. When asked , how long it takes to make a pool cue, I figured out the answer was 4 – 12 packs of Miller lite…DAD

  2. Sonia June 4, 2012 at 4:41 PM #

    You definitely have math OCD! That’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

