A Fine Looking Young Man

26 May

Image

Oh my goodness!  My son is growing up so fast!  I was going to entitle this post “Cutie Patootie” but he’s grown out of that stage and into the young man stage.  WOW…

The above picture was how he looked before going to assist at the junior high graduation.  His job was to lead the graduates in (along with his best friend and fellow “smartie” Jimmy).  Then he had to assist the girls down the steps.  What?  Yes… weird as it sounds these 13 and 14-year-old girls where wearing 3″ spikes and were in need of assistance off the stage.  I’m sure they chose DJ over Jimmy because of size.  Jimmy weighs all of 60 pounds when wet.  LOL 

I just dropped him off since there was no room and no ticket for me to stay and watch.  But when I picked him up, I saw the tail end of the graduation through the back door.  I have to tell you, I had goosebumps.  I have them now when posting this!  He was such a gentleman – extending his hand to these girls and so serious about his job!  With the tie and outfit… I just can’t get over how he’s grown up!  ::tears::  When did that happen?

Funny thing about the outfit though…  I bought his shirt – a men’s medium – since he has no “dress” shirts.  He picked out the tie from his dad’s stash of ties.  I tried to have him pick out one with more punch but he liked the “blah” one.  I had purchased the black shoes for a band concert in March. He had khakis from the same March band concert.  But at 6pm when he went to dress (had to be there in 15 minutes mind you!), the pants were too tight AND too short!  PANIC TIME!  NONE of his khakis fit!  CRAPOLA!  Dan rummaged through his own closet and pulled out these gray pants and, although they were slightly big and long, they fit a lot better than his own pants.  Why didn’t I think to have him try on his outfit the night before?  In two months, he has grown so much that his clothes don’t fit him!  He’s grown both outward and upward!  Sheesh!

Disaster averted and a successful graduation.  🙂

One Response to “A Fine Looking Young Man”

  1. bsburgess May 27, 2012 at 9:32 AM #

    He looks great! He’s growing up so fast.

Leave a Reply

