Not Dead

1 Mar

…just really swamped with work stuff.

It’s test time – midterms specifically.  I’m giving my midterms a bit early but I’m spending a lot of my time making up the tests, testing the hands on tests, and grading them.  I’ve taken a hiatus from knitting – haven’t touched the stuff since Sunday.  However I did some more dyeing on Saturday and just got around to balling it up today.

This was from a reclaimed Goodwill sweater.  I tend to buy sweaters in the “Natural” color – which looks like a dirty color to me.  But this was a “deane & white” brand (never heard of it).  Yarn content is 70% lambswool, 20% angora, 10% nylon.  Dyeing it fluffed it up quite a bit and it’s very soft.  I’m anxious to make something from it to see if it’s itchy or not.

Kool Aid Dyed Yarn

The colors/flavors are from left to right:  Strawberry Kiwi, Orange, and Peach Mango.  The last one on the right is the natural color.  The peach mango surprised me – it looks like goldenrod.  I like it the best and dyed four ounces of that one.  I have plenty of natural left and I may try lemon-lime green this weekend on 2 ounces.  I’m not a big fan of the pink but a stripe here and there of it would look good I think.  I only dyed an ounce of that so I should dye another to even out the batch.  Not sure…

Mia and I decided after the Weight Watcher’s meeting today that we were going to do the “Couch to 5K” challenge.  She is 22 and I am 49.  She doesn’t understand that I will probably never actually RUN a 5K.  NEVER…  But I do want to encourage her and want to help her continue to succeed in her weight loss so I said I was game.  I looked up the plan and decided not to even start with Week 1 (run a minute; walk a minute).  I started with Week 0 – walk for 15 minutes.  🙂  While reading my book on my treadmill.  🙂  Can you say, “Cop out?”  Sigh…  I did download the app though and went shopping for sports bras.  So those three things combined should be a good start for this week, right?

2 Responses to “Not Dead”

  1. Sonia March 1, 2012 at 7:10 PM #

    Yeah for Mia and you!

    • ginaquilts March 1, 2012 at 7:12 PM #

      LOL – if it actually last more than a week!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

