You Know I Did

20 Feb

… start a new project with the purple cashmere.  Of course I had to see how it would look knitted up.  I started the Calais shawl which was beautiful but took me hours to get just a few dozen rows done.  I didn’t love the look of the marbled yarn on that particular lace and ripped it out.

I then began a simple garter stitch triangular shawl/scarf called Multnomah.  I thought the garter stitch would look nice with the marbled effect of the yarn.  I am holding two strands together.

Technically the yarn isn’t plied because the strands aren’t twisted.  That’s another reason I dropped the Calais shawl.  It was tough to do the S2, K1, PSSO with the two strands.  And that stitch was every sixth one so I was struggling with it.

Today is a day off for us – President’s Day. My daughter commented that most kids only know about George Washington, Abraham Lincoln and the current president.  She’s probably correct.

We are spending the day helping DJ finish his backboard for his science fair project.  Neatness and artistic ability don’t run high on his strengths so Gianna and I are helping him lay it out and glue everything in place.  I don’t foresee much knitting going on today.

2 Responses to “You Know I Did”

  1. Jenn Embry February 20, 2012 at 11:42 AM #

    I love the color! It looks great. Holding two strands of yarn together can be so tricky at times. I don’t blame you for ripping and going to something simple. I think this will be rather elegant in it’s simplicity when you are done with it though. 🙂

  2. bsburgess February 20, 2012 at 3:31 PM #

    Looks weird to me. Can’t figure out what the final product will look like so that will have me coming back for more blogging! Here in Alabama, they celebrate MLK day and Robert E. Lee day on the same day. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

