Why I Don’t Get Anything Done

3 Feb

This week has been so hectic.  Dan was traveling so I was both mom and dad along with working and everything else.

Yesterday,my oldest daughter mentioned that she’s going to Cincinnati this weekend to see her boyfriend’s sister and their new baby.  She has already given a shower gift and a Christmas gift to the baby but a friend said she should bring another gift.  I said (listen closely – here’s the stupid in me showing through), “How about a knitted stocking cap?”  Like do I have infant stocking caps laying around?  No, of course not.  So Mia jumped right on that one and said, “Oh Mom, could you whip one up in a day?”  “Of course… it’s a baby itty bitty item.  How hard can it be?”

Hard?  No…. Time consuming when I already have my plate full?  Sigh… yes.

She is on the road to Cincinnati now and here’s the state of the hat.

About half done.

I’m not the brightest bulb in the box at times and this is one of those times.  Besides the fact that I had a full day of teaching until 10pm yesterday, I picked out a pattern that uses fingering weight yarn.  And although that looks like a rather large sock, there are 98 stitches around that circle and it takes a bit of time to knit it up.

So now what?  Do I finish it because I started it?  I have other projects – lots of them – that I should be working on instead.  If I do finish it, who do I give it to?  Just leave it be until I need the next emergency baby boy hat? What are the chances that I’ll find it then?  LOL

Learn from your mistakes, Gina.  Keep your mouth shut next time.  Say, “Gift card…”  anything other than “Sure, I can do that.”

One Response to “Why I Don’t Get Anything Done”

  1. Sonia February 3, 2012 at 8:33 PM #

    ;o) You’re a giver! That’s what you do. That’s one of the things we love about you.

Leave a Reply

