Terrific Tuesday

24 Jan

After a not-so-great weekend, I worked a 13 hour day yesterday.  I worked all day until I picked up the kids, took Gianna out for hot chocolate, went to their school for an academic team meet, watched that for 1/2 hour and headed back for night class.  Sheesh…  I didn’t eat supper til after 9pm!  I’m gonna lose weight on Mondays that’s for sure.

Today I was up early to take DJ to 7am academic team practice at one school.  I then picked him up and took him to math at the high school…. picked Gianna up from home and took her to school.  Since I had 3 cups of coffee in me and had already showered for the day, I headed back to work myself.

Fortunately, I have no classes on Tuesday.  🙂  I attended my meetings, made my phone calls, answered email and took off by lunch time.  I headed to Aldi to pick up fruits and vegies and then to Goodwill to see if I could score some cashmere.

And I did.

Not one, not two, but three cashmere sweaters BABY!

Hence the title of this post, Terrific Tuesday.  🙂  It doesn’t take much to make my day terrific, now does it?

The top left purple sweater is a Lands End Size Small.  It may fit my sister as is.  I won’t unravel it until she tells me if she wants it to wear.  It was $6.99 instead of the regular $3.49.  Someone spotted the tag and marked up the price.  They had it showcased with an outfit.  I also spotted the tag and took it off the showcase.  $6.99 is still a good price for a cashmere sweater.

The top right pink sweater may be felted.  I can’t tell.  It’s awfully fuzzy.  I’ll start with a sleeve and if I can’t unravel it, I may try dyeing it making a pillow out of it.  Or something.  Not sure… It has a tear in the neckline and I tried to get more money off, but they wouldn’t take anything additional.  $3.49 – good deal.

The bottom one is interesting.  It’s a khaki color and knit in a 1 x 1 rib.  I think there’s a lot of yarn there.  I also think the yarn looks slightly thicker.  Maybe it’s not but the rib stitch makes it look thicker.  That one may actually fit me too.  I may wear it a time or two before deciding if I’m going to take it apart. $3.49

I also got two work shirts for my hubby.  He has long arms and is wearing XL shirts even though he’s a medium to large in size.  I found large LONG shirts for him.  They are in the wash now.  $3.49 each.  🙂  We just went to Kohl’s this weekend and picked up two new work shirts for around $20 each.  Goodwill has spoiled me for shopping even the sales at other stores!

Okay, back to work for me.  I can work from home the rest of the afternoon.  I have some grading and lecture prep to do.  It would be nice if I could multitask and take a nap at the same time.  No?  Darn…

One Response to “Terrific Tuesday”

  1. bsburgess January 24, 2012 at 5:39 PM #

    Good deals galore! I’ll try the small sweater out, for sure. Everyone needs to wear cashmere; especially, at $6.99! Going to GW here in Alabama on Saturday. Only one store in this area and it closes at 5pm on weekdays and closed on Sundays.

Leave a Reply

