The Great Starter

20 Jan

I am known as the great starter.  Not so great a completions though!  LOL

I’m about 40% done with Sonia’s scarf and I started a sweater project!  What the heck?  But it’s going so quickly and I’m addicted to it.  Here it is so far…

Why yes... I am taking a picture of myself in the bathroom mirror. Why do you ask?

The pattern is Mondo Cable Pulli by Bonnie Marie Burns of chicknits.  I’m using a 100%merino wool that I got on sale for $3 a hank.  That whole 1/3 of a sweater has been knit up in 3 days!  That’s fast for my slow knitting.  I am disappointed in one thing though.  My tension on the back and forth knitting is different than my tension in the round.  I’m happy to say that I can’t see it in the pictures and maybe it will block out even better.  I’m looser in my purl rows than I am in the knit rows.  Weird… I’ve either never had that problem  before or I’ve never noticed before.  Hmmm…. I’m going to keep knitting though.  I don’t think it will be noticeable by anyone but me.  And it’s a sweater that I’ll wear on weekends – kind of a comfy, kick around type sweater and not a showcase, going to the awards ceremony sweater, so I think I can live with a few imperfections.

Now I’m in a predicament.  I can’t possibly work on two projects at once.  I only have one pair of hands.  I haven’t knit on Sonia’s scarf at all in the past two days and I’m feeling guilty about that.  I’m on the “smooth sailing” part on both projects where there isn’t much thinking going on for either of them.  So I’m going to try to either (1) alternate days or (2) every time I sit down to knit pick up the project that wasn’t worked on last.  Either of those should work out.  I was trying to knit a pattern repeat a day on the scarf so I’ll have to knit three today to keep up with my fake, self-imposed schedule due to my “new project neglect”.  Sonia is used to me not finishing projects for her, but just once I’d like to surprise her and follow through with an actual finished project.  I’ll keep you posted on how this plan works out.

And BTW, I’m thinking about quilting this weekend… Just a heads up in case you want to call the press or anything…

One Response to “The Great Starter”

  1. bsburgess January 21, 2012 at 1:58 PM #

    OMG, OMG, OMG!!!! I’m sooooo excited about that last line 😉
    Love the sweater. You can stop on the sweater because it’s the perfect length for a “Study Hard” poster! Remeber those? I’m sure Jay had one 😉

Leave a Reply

