Cotton

16 Jan

I’m trying to clean up my yarn storage area and go through some of my unfinished objects and try to determine (a) why they are unfinished (what made me stop knitting them?) and (b) are they salvageable or should they be frogged?

Here is the start of a cotton V-neck sweater that I started from reclaimed cotton yarn.

Not a great picture but I love the pattern and the yarn is sooooo soft.  It has the makings of a “favorite-wear-with-blue-jeans” pullover.  Could be the go-to sweater for weekends.  I stored it with the pattern and found my stopping place easily.  No notes on the pattern itself as to why I stopped.  I knitted a few rows.  And then I remembered.

  • My fingers and wrists ached.  Cotton isn’t easy to knit with.  It doesn’t bounce and spring and slide off the needles well.  My hands have to do too much work.  Now, that might not be the case for everyone.  But for me, cotton is tough to knit for long periods of time.
  • I have different tension in the round and flat knitting.  Again I think it’s because of the cotton yarn.  I don’t have that problem with most wool and wool blends.  This sweater begins with back and forth flat knitting.  I knit one row; purl the next.  Until you join at the V-neck.  Then it’s straight knit.  My tension changed at that point.  I went from 4 or 4.25 stitches per inch to 4.5 stitches per inch.  Not a big deal?  Well it is for a 38″ sweater. It’s a matter of 2-3″.  Plus it looks bad.  You can really notice it from the inside of the sweater.
  • Ridges in pairs from the flat knitting; no ridges once I knit in the round

    • Finally I put the sweater on two needles so I could slide it over my head and try the sweater on.  The arm holes appear to be a little snug.  Now I remember.  That was the deal breaker.  I tend to make my sweaters a bit big so I remember thinking that’s the way it’s supposed to be on a fitted sweater.  But in the back of my mind I thought, “That’s gonna bother me.”

Unfortunately, even though I like the sweater and the yarn, I am going to have to frog it.  There’s no hope of finishing this and being satisfied with it.  I have A LOT of that red tweed yarn.  Figures, huh?

Sigh…

Leave a Reply

