A Rough Start

13 Jan

I started my sister’s scarf last night…. SEVEN times….

It’s common for me to start projects two or three times because I screw up reading the directions or drop a stitch or something.  It’s easier to restart than correct.  But this time that wasn’t the case.  The yarn is a very dark cranberry.  So I had to find the right pattern.  Darker yarn (like darker fabrics) just don’t show the ridges and valleys of knitting.

I found this nice basketweave pattern first.

But the pattern was lost on a dark colored yarn.  Plus, the yarn needs to be shiny and smooth like a cotton or silk for this pattern in my opinion.  After a dozen rows of that scarf I ripped out and started this pretty chevron baby.

There were multiple free patterns in the chevron style.  But again, these were just not right for this yarn.  I gave it a few dozen rows this time thinking I was a bit too picky.  But no.  Wasn’t going to work.

That’s two patterns.  Where are the other 5?  Well I didn’t cast on the correct multiple of the first one and had to start again.  Then I decided it needed a garter border so the edges didn’t curl like the one in the picture.  See what I mean?  False start after false start.

Luckily, there’s the Ravelry website.  I looked specifically for fingering weight yarn and looked at finished projects in darker colors.  Lo and behold, someone published a free pattern and the sample was in cranberry.  Ahhh…. the search was over.  I liked it and I knew it would turn out well.  If only I didn’t keep screwing it up.

Armed with the yarn…

from this Turnbury cashmere sweater that I have been unraveling…

and a set of size 4 needles, I began again this morning.  7am.  I’m happy to report that I have 8 inches completed and I still like it.

What? No pictures?

Nope.  It’s a surprise for my sister and she checks the blog regularly.

What? Only 8 inches all day and it’s after 3pm?

I did other things like clean the house… and worked from home… and practiced my piano lessons (“Spring” by Vivaldi and “Gilligan’s Island” by ?? the sitcom).

But because I’m weird, I did time my progress.  The scarf consists of 24 rows repeated constantly.  It takes me abut 45 minutes to complete one pass of the 24 rows.  I have 3 sets done.  I have 17 more to do.  That’s approximately 13 hours.  At an hour a day – I can get this scarf finished in two weeks.

In other news:

  1. The college canceled my night class last night due to the snow.  It’s the first time the college has canceled classes since our new administration came into office.  Interesting…
  2. We got about 6″ of snow I’d estimate.  I’ve shoveled the driveway twice.  I’m sick of it already.
  3. Even though most people in this area are born and bred Illinoisans, most have forgotten how to drive in the snow.  They must not have had a father who took them to the parking lot to do donuts before they got their driver’s license.  🙂  Thanks Dad but I think I may need a refresher course in that too.  Turn your wheel towards your back end when sliding, right?

Alright, back to work.  Even though I’m not in today, I have to post my first week’s assignments for my online class and create a webcast on what I would have covered in last night’s class.

One Response to “A Rough Start”

  1. Sonia January 13, 2012 at 6:52 PM #

    How exciting! I love to hear your progress even though there’s no pictures. I’m so lucky to have you as a sister and give me your best 🙂

Leave a Reply

