Sweater Interruptus

22 Oct

I had to interrupt my sweater knitting to get a question answered, so I quickly whipped up another stocking cap.  I’m in search of the perfect stocking cap and have yet to find it.  Bummer!  But these two are good.

RED:  Hermoine Hearts Ron.  Hermoine apparently wore a similar cap in the sixth movie (Half Blood Prince).  A fellow knitter figured out the pattern and made a duplicate – then gave the pattern away for free. That was mighty nice of her!

Why yes... It's Saturday morning and I have no makeup on. Thanks for noticing!

I made the hat using the same yarn as I knitted a pair of gloves out of last March.  Now I have a matching set!  Red goes with brown and black coats so it’s versatile.  🙂  Such the fashion diva…

GREEN:  This was some left over worsted weight yarn from the mint lace cardigan that I finished this past August.

I have nothing that goes with this hat.  I originally was going to donate it to the Hats for Sailors project but I think both the cabling on the brim and the color are too feminine.  The brim is doubled so it will make a good “dog walking hat” because it will be so warm.

The last project is…. well, let’s just say that anyone who posts pictures of themselves with (a) no makeup and (b) in this getup truly has no modesty issues.  Here goes nothing…

No, it’s not a costume.  It’s going to be a dress form.  Mia taped duct tape to my body and then cut up the back.  I have it partially stuffed sitting on a PVC pipe T-shaped base.  It’s pretty cool so far.  Why not just buy a dress form?  Because they are over $150 for the cheapy ones.  And people say they aren’t a realistic body shape.  This one is MY body shape.  If it turns out, it will be $40 in supplies.  If not, it was an experience.  Right?

Now back to the regularly scheduled sweater knitting…

2 Responses to “Sweater Interruptus”

  1. Bethea October 22, 2011 at 10:05 PM #

    That’s a brilliant idea for a dress form!

  2. Sonia October 23, 2011 at 9:36 AM #

    I can’t believe you and the dress form! I hope it works out.

Leave a Reply

