As If I Don’t Have Enough Projects!

9 Oct

I bought this sweater at Goodwill last week for $3.50.

It’s actually not bad as it stands.  However it’s too short for my liking and…..  take a look at this label!

That’s right.  Silk and Angora with Nylon for strength.  So what’s a knitter to do but take it apart and reclaim the yarn for a different project, of course!

Here’s what I have after one sleeve and the back have been unraveled.

🙂  None of the white is salvageable.  They had it all knotted in weird and it was coming out in short segments.  It was frustrating the heck out of me so I scrapped it.  The blue is iffy and I probably threw away too much of it originally.  Since it’s at the top, I have to cut apart a lot to get the unraveling started.

But is SUPER SOFT!  Unbelievable… And winding up like a dream.  It’s worsted weight so it will be easy to work with as is.  When all is said and done I’ll have enough for mittens and a hat.  The set will be mostly gray with a blue stripe or pattern of some kind every now and then.  That’s the plan for now.  Who knows when that project will begin though.  Sheesh… put it on the list, huh?

Today I’ll work on Gianna’s sleeve.  I have to take her to softball practice and if the coach doesn’t need help, I’ll sit in the car and knit on her sleeve.

Oh and for the record… I also bought another $3.50 sweater that’s 100% Merino Wool.  It appears to be a sport weight yarn.  The sweater won’t fit me – it’s label is “Petite Sophisticate”.  And I purchased the find of the century.  A Genuine Leather coat for $6.98.  🙂  It’s awesome too.  Two pairs of jeans on top of that and I walked out with a leather coat, two pairs of pants, and two knitting projects for about $25.

I love GW.

2 Responses to “As If I Don’t Have Enough Projects!”

  1. Sonia October 9, 2011 at 6:43 PM #

    What’s the scoop on the cashmere sweater?

    • ginaquilts October 9, 2011 at 6:50 PM #

      It’s so fine of a thread that I can’t take apart the seams without ripping the good yarn. So I thought I’d start with some bulkier yarn and figure out the best way to take the cashmere apart. So it’s on the back burner til I figure it out.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

