Interesting Developments

24 Sep

Last year I knitted this sweater.

It was a little big last year and really big this year.  So I unraveled it and dyed it in a pot of KOOL AID!  I used three Berry Blue and one Grape per skein or 1.75 oz.  Here’s the results.

The picture doesn’t do it justice.  It has a mottled, teal, purple, bright blue thing going on .  Some of the original shows through in small streaks here and there.  I think it’s going to knit up wonderfully.  I’m anxious to knit up a swatch and see how it looks.  It’s not completely dry yet – still damp from last night.  I’m only doing a skein at a time and I have 10 skeins.  It will take me a good part of the weekend to finish dying it all.  Interesting… very interesting.

I’ve started a plain, old cardigan for Gianna.  It’s in teal heather wool.  I’m making up the pattern as I go along so I’m doing my fair share of ripping.  I just had to rip back two inches because it’s too big under the armholes.  I’ll post pictures of that tomorrow.

Speaking of Gianna, she got one of the lead parts in this year’s 4th and 5th grade musical.  She had a lead speaking role last year, but this year her part has a solo.  It’s a fun part – the villain.  🙂

 

3 Responses to “Interesting Developments”

  1. Mom September 24, 2011 at 6:45 PM #

    So, when you get done and wash it, won’t the color wash out? Very interesting!!!!
    I thought you had to use a dye. Color looks good.

    • ginaquilts September 24, 2011 at 8:09 PM #

      Supposedly because it is heat set (you actually cook it) and it’s an animal fiber, it is permanent. The white strings are cotton and the kool aid didn’t soak into that at all.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Sonia September 24, 2011 at 9:07 PM #

    I’m seeing a pattern with quilting and knitting! It’s pretty cool that you could buy yarn and use it year after year. I’m sending you the casmere sweater in the mail tomorrow so that’s going to be an interesting project on your blog.

Leave a Reply

