Knitting and Quilting

16 Sep

So I’ve been thinking…. Just why is it that this knitting bug has taken over my life and the quilting  bug has had such an abrupt and sudden death?

The answer is:  I don’t know.

I truly don’t.  Quilting doesn’t appeal to me anymore.  I feel like maybe I plateaued.  (That doesn’t look like it’s spelled correctly – but I’m going with it anyway.)  I was piecing the same types of quilts.  Quilts with squares; quilts with triangles; quilts with rectangles.  And my skills weren’t getting any better!  My points were not perfect.  My blocks were not always to size.  In fact, I think towards the end there I was getting WORSE instead of better!  I also have a short attention span so when I got to the parts where I needed to do the same piecing over and over again, I wanted to move on to a different project.  So I did.  And then I never went back to the original project.  Hence the term Quilting UFO – UnFinished Objects.  I have a gazillion of those.  I lost interest.  Then finally, I’d get so far into a project – sometimes even to the quilting stage – and think, “This isn’t how I envisioned this quilt coming out.”  So I couldn’t force myself to work on it anymore. Why continue?  I don’t like it.

So I got burned out… too picky… I just stopped enjoying the process.  That’s probably the main thing.  I became indifferent towards the art and the craft of quilting.

How is knitting different?  It probably isn’t.  Right now it’s pretty new to me.  I’m self-taught (same as quilting).  I thoroughly enjoy “figuring stuff out”.  I love a puzzle.  “How did they do that?”  “How does this work?”  I loved that about quilting too.  I don’t like to always follow the rules, but instead I like to figure out MY OWN way of doing things.  Since knitting is fresh and new as far as crafts for me, I’m still at that stage – figuring out how to do things.

It’s all about the process.

“I’ve never used that yarn before. I need to try it.  How is Yarn A different to knit with than Yarn B?”

“I’ll probably never wear a shawl but people say the lace patterns are difficult to knit.  I better try one.  I can always give it away to someone.”

“I can whip up a hat in two days maximum.  There’s not a lot of time invested and I can experiment with different yarns, stitches, needles, etc.”

Will I burn out on knitting?  Yep… probably…  just like I did with quilting.  I might be a little obsessive in my hobbies because I jump in to the deep end and learn to swim from the get go.  But for now,  I like it.  I still do a little sewing and quilting.  I made purses with Mia.  I am thinking about making some pajama pants for the colder months.  I do still enjoy making things.  But I’m not sure I will be able to dive into the quilting deep end just yet.  And I’m fine with that.

2 Responses to “Knitting and Quilting”

  1. Sonia September 17, 2011 at 12:56 PM #

    Life’s too short to do hobbies you really don’t enjoy. Enjoy doing a little of everything!

  2. craftyland September 19, 2011 at 9:11 AM #

    Quilting can be completely frustrating. I don’t pretend to be an expert quilter, by any means. What helped me was taking a class, making sure that my machine really made an accurate 1/4 inch seam and cutting carefully. That being said, I still have issues with getting a block to not be wonky! I enjoy knitting because as long as you swatch and block, you are going to get a nice looking garment. I agree, with Sonia above, life is too short to work on something that doesn’t make you happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

