I’m Lost

18 Apr

My kids are on spring break this week but I’m not.  My wonderful sister volunteered to take them to her house (about 1.75 hours away) to spend a few days with them.  I have to admit – it’s so weird here without them!  It’s quiet… just Dan, me and the dogs.  Very weird… I’m just lost without them!

Lucky thing I have work and knitting to keep my occupied, huh?  And Hawk who is PITA-extraordinaire today!

I’m not sure about the sock project.  The heel turn was strange and I’m not sure how the fit is going to be.  I’m going to finish it, but it’s hurting my wrist/arm to keep knitting that small of a gauge, so I’ve taken to only knitting the sock in the morning.  Evenings are for my newest project – a shawl.

I know what you’re thinking… “When are YOU ever going to wear a shawl?”  Because it’s totally not something I can see me wearing anywhere.  But this is kind of like a large, lacey scarf.  And I totally think my piano teacher would wear it to church and stuff.  She’s a fancy dresser and would look great with this shawl-thing wrapped around her.  So if I ever finish it, I will give it to her as a present.

So here’s a picture but be warned… it doesn’t look very good now.  This is my first lace project and from what I read on the Internet it doesn’t look good until you block it. So that’s what I’m counting on – the blocking to work out the kinks.

This is not true to color and the yarn is all shiny and silky in person.  The pattern is Upstairs-Shawl by Michaela Behrends.  I’m using size 5 needles and some wool/bamboo blend of yarn that is marketed as sock yarn but I found it too slippery and thin to use for socks so this is the perfect project for it.  The pattern calls for 320 rows and I’ve already finished about 60 rows so I’m on my way to completing it within two weeks.  🙂

One Response to “I’m Lost”

  1. bsburgess April 18, 2011 at 9:04 PM #

    The kids are having a great time and your shawl looks great! Enjoy the quiet time 😉

Leave a Reply

