Some Knitting Going On

12 Apr

Not much of any knitting going on with work, two home projects, and the kids’ activities.  But I did manage to get some simple and quick knitting done this past week.

Gianna celebrated her 10th birthday.  She got her room remodeled and  a desk for a present.  But when we went to Chicago a couple of weeks ago, I didn’t bring any knitting with me – just a book to pass the time away on the train.  I quickly finished the book and so Gianna and I looked up yarn shops in Chicago and found The Loopy Yarn right off State Street on the south end of the Loop. She endured the bitter cold of that day to walk the mile to the shop with me.  I bought three skeins of sock yarn and a size 1 needle and I was content with a project for the rest of the weekend.

As a result, Gianna got his very bright pair of anklets for her birthday from that yarn trip she made with me.

She claims she only likes anklets now so that was fine by me!  🙂  It’s so much quicker to make a pair of socks without the legs!  The yarn is Cascades Heritage and was very bright but also very nice to work with.  The socks are more lime green than blue like the picture shows.  I’m afraid this is one pair of socks that we won’t be sharing or fighting over.  I have NOTHING in my wardrobe that matches these!

I started another pair three days ago but I’m afraid I’m going to have to rip them out.

I love the pattern – it looks like dragon scales to me.  But they are HUGE.  My gauge is dead on at 8 stitches to the inch in st st but in pattern the socks are turning out to be 8.5″ around instead of 8″.  Therefore they are going to be too baggy in the foot when I get to that part I’m afraid.  Nothing worse than baggy socks.  I keep trying them on and keep saying, “I’ll just knit a few more rows and see…”  but I’m afraid they will be too big.  Now what?  Can I just eliminate 4 stitches?  Eliminating 8 stitches would be too many and they’d be too small I’m sure.  The pattern has a different construction than I’m used to and I would have to “wing it” when it comes to the heel turning.  Hmmm… haven’t decided on what to do yet.  The yarn is some brand with “Smooshy” in the name.  I like it but it’s thicker than my normal sock yarn so these would definitely be winter socks.

Maybe I should start something OTHER than socks!  🙂  But I have all this sock yarn…

One Response to “Some Knitting Going On”

  1. Sonia April 12, 2011 at 6:02 PM #

    Forget the socks! Take up a new hobby, like sewing :o)

Leave a Reply

