I’d Like To Buy A Day Please

5 Apr

Does anyone have any extra days for sale?  I can’t seem to fit all I need to do in the 7 provided so I’d like to purchase an 8th day of the week from someone? Anyone????

My co-worker had surgery and we don’t have substitute teachers.  So I’m taking two of his classes in addition to my regular load.  Teaching them isn’t really the problem.  It’s prepping for them that’s part of the problem.  I haven’t taught the subject in 5 years, mind you.  So I actually have to READ THE BOOK.  🙂  And then I have to do some additional research on the topics that are a bit cloudy.  Then I have to do even more research on what local businesses are doing with this technology so I can give real-world examples.  AFTER all that, I have to come up with labs for the students to do to APPLY this new found knowledge.  Sometimes there are good labs in the textbook (jackpot!); sometimes there are good labs in other books I have laying around my office.  And sometimes I have to make the labs up from scratch.  Either of the above three scenarios involve me testing each lab and possibly modifying them which takes time.  I’m not a “wing it” kind of gal.  I have to know what I’m going into before I go there!

Now let’s talk about the additional grading that two new classes require.

So basically, I’m teaching Monday through Friday and Tuesday nights as well.  I try to a little bit each night at home (an hour of reading or prepping in some subject matter).  This enables me to stay a day ahead of the students and that’s all I can do right now.

What else?  Well, last week I had school related meetings two of the nights.  And let’s not forget that softball season starts tonight with our first practice!  I’ll miss it (great coach, eh?), but at least 2-3 days/nights will have practices schedules added.

So does anyone want to sell me a day NOW???

3 Responses to “I’d Like To Buy A Day Please”

  1. DAD April 5, 2011 at 5:21 PM #

    I wish I had a teacher like you…DAD

  2. Gari April 5, 2011 at 8:49 PM #

    So, I guess this means you aren’t doing much sewing? Hope your co-worker recovers really fast.

  3. Sonia April 5, 2011 at 9:27 PM #

    Happy anniversary! Hope the work load gets lighter when your co-worker returns.

Leave a Reply

