Presidents’ Day

21 Feb

The kids and I have off today in celebration of Presidents’ Day.  Perfect timing too because I don’t like my Monday/Wednesday classes as well as I like the Tuesday/Thursday and Friday classes.  Plus any three day weekend is a good thing to get caught up and get refreshed.  🙂

Today we listed our top three presidents in no particular order.

DJ

  1. Abraham Lincoln
  2. FDR
  3. Teddy Roosevelt

Gianna

  1. Barack Obama
  2. Abraham Lincoln
  3. JFK

Me

  1. Abraham Lincoln
  2. Andrew Jackson
  3. FDR

Dan didn’t have a vote since he is working today.  😉  We also tried to list our worst three presidents but it was hard to narrow down the field in that category.

IN OTHER NEWS:

The bathroom wallpaper is stripped so today will include washing down the walls in preparation for painting.

The second sock heel is completed and I’ve only got the leg to knit.  After completing this heel twice now, I can firmly say that it’s only okay.  On a scale from 1-10 with 10 being my favorite heel it’s a 6.  I don’t like wrap-and-turns because no matter how hard I try, it seems like I miss picking one up – especially with fingering weight yarn.  Also with this pattern, she has quite a few pfb (purl front and back) stitches which look like wrap-and-turns because of the bump they make.  I will raise or lower the score depending on the fit once the socks are worn.

So far I like the Maia heel the best; this one is second place; and the “other” one (I can’t even remember the name of it) is in last place.  I like to experiment – that’s the best part of knitting to me.  So I’ll keep trying other heels as patterns present themselves.

Two more days for the leg and then what’s next?  Go back to the gloves?  Start the red sweater/cardigan?  Nanner socks?  A hat?  Hmmm…. stay tuned….

Leave a comment with your top three American presidents!

One Response to “Presidents’ Day”

  1. Sonia February 21, 2011 at 2:02 PM #

    1. Abraham Lincoln
    2. FDR
    3. Ronald Reagan

Leave a Reply

