Knitting Games

20 Feb

I play games with myself while knitting. I know… what kind of psycho admits that?  But I used to do the same thing with quilting.  Here’s what I do:

I have an egg timer and I time how long it takes me to do certain tasks, like knit the four row repeat on the sock pattern I’m knitting.  It was about 13 minutes.  So then I know that if I have 1/2 hour to knit I should be able to get in 10 rows or so.  So I try to get in 11 or 12 rows instead.

I finished the first sock…

… and started the next one.  I counted how many of the holey rows there were on the first sock.  There are 30. Now I can gauge how far along I am on the next sock.  I an set little goals or contests.  If I estimate it took 7 hours to do the first sock, can I get the second one done in 6 hours?  The heel will not be rocket science since I did it already.  It should go faster than before.

I know enough NOT to skip steps.  For example, I MUST count the stitches on each needle after completing the holey row.  With all those K2togs and yarn overs, I can easily have fewer or more than what I’m supposed to.  It’s easier to nip that right away than take out this simple lace pattern.

Weird huh?  🙂

 

 

3 Responses to “Knitting Games”

  1. Judy February 20, 2011 at 10:39 AM #

    Nope, not at all! ;>) On some projects I do the same thing in different ways.

  2. Suzanne February 20, 2011 at 11:01 AM #

    OH, I play all kinds of mind games, too, not just with knitting. I try not to time myself, though, because I don’t think I want to know exactly how many minutes I’m spending on making socks. LOL

  3. Sonia February 20, 2011 at 1:24 PM #

    I got the same weird genes as you did! Different games for different applications. No wonder we can’t sleep 🙂

Leave a Reply

