Finished Gloves

12 Feb

The gloves are finished!  Done!  Fini!  Yippee!  They fit quite well.  I already wore them to take Hawk for a walk.  In fact, my hands were sweating in them so they must be warm.  🙂

If I were to do a pair of gloves again, I’d make a bit more room between the ribbing and the thumb.  Also there must be some good videos on youtube on how to close up the gaps between the fingers better.  I ended up burying the yarn tail and sewing up the gaps which worked but there’s probably a better way.

I’m going to make a matching hat next.  I need to work on a computer project for my sister and my mom this weekend, but the matching hat will be the next project.  I have a lot of the Cascade 220 sport weight yarn.  I bought it by mistake – thought it was worsted.  So I think I have 14 hanks or so.

On another note…

We went to PetSmart today.  It just opened up locally.  I was like a kid with ADHD.  There were dogs with owners, dogs from a greyhound rescue, dogs from a shelter to be adopted… I was loving all of them!  There was a yellow lab that was so light he was practically white colored… 2 years old… male… named Duke… he just needed to come home with us!  Dan was looking at me like I was on crack.  He said, “We have a lab at home already.”  I said, “But Hawk is Cory’s dog and when he leaves we are going to be heartbroken.  We need another dog of our own just like him… only lighter in color.”  That logic wasn’t flying with Dan at all.  He said, “*IF* Hawk ever leaves, we will talk about a replacement at that time.. not now!” What kind of backwards logic is that?

I texted my daughter, Mia, and told her NOT to go to PetSmart because of the cuteness overload.  Of course, she went.  Her boyfriend’s roommate came home with a dog!  Not Duke the awesome lab – he was already adopted by someone else.  But a mastiff-mix.  I don’t know about mastiff – it looked like a pit bull face to me.  Maybe that’s what it was mixed with!  Out of all the cute dogs there, it wouldn’t have been my choice.

I did get a harness for Hawk at PetSmart.  I’ve started walking him again this week and he just pulls too much.  I tried the harness out this afternoon and it worked great.  Gianna was even able to walk him and he walked by her side with very little correction.  I think that’s going to be a great way to walk him.  He didn’t pull much before, but I’d rather use the harness than a choke chain.  Cory thinks harnesses are for wimps but what he doesn’t know won’t hurt him.

Mia also signed her dog up for obedience lessons.  That pug NEEDS them!  I hope they work out for her.

2 Responses to “Finished Gloves”

  1. Sonia February 12, 2011 at 8:20 PM #

    Gloves are awesome. The hat will be a great companion. Bruce can’t go to the PetSmart either!

  2. Sheila February 14, 2011 at 5:46 AM #

    Wow! That was fast, and they look great.

Leave a Reply

