Time To Regroup

11 Feb

So I couldn’t sleep thinking about those stinkin’ socks and how the yarn wasn’t right.  I got up and took them off the needles and said, “It’s time to regroup.”  I’m not really INTO a knitting project.  I start a pair of socks because there’s not another project that’s calling me. So I needed to prioritize my projects.

1)  Blue Socks – not happenin’.  Life’s too short to be frustrated by your relaxation hobby.  Oh well… write it off as experience.

2)  Gianna’s Teal Sweater – neither she nor I are into this sweater.  It’s not really worth my two weeks of knitting if she’s not going to wear it or only going to wear it to please me.  I can use the yarn for something else.  I took that off the needles too.

So what is it I want to do?

GLOVES!

After making Gianna’s mittens, I thought, “I’ll never wear mittens but what about gloves?  I’d wear hand knit gloves.”  I started making swatches and couldn’t get any combination of needles and yarn to suit the pattern I wanted to follow so I gave up.  Time to try again!  And…

SUCCESS!

Cascade 220 Sport yarn on size 3 needles gave me 6 stitches per inch.  I’m following Ann Budd’s pattern from “The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns”.  The fingers aren’t that much of a pain like I thought they would be.  Her finger measurements aren’t long enough IMHO so I’m lengthening them to fit my fingers.  In fact, even though I’m lengthening them, I still think they are a little short.  But knits stretch and I think they’ll be just fine.

So hopefully I can get these gloves done this weekend.  It’s a fast knit, fun, and challenging all at the same time.

3 Responses to “Time To Regroup”

  1. Judy February 11, 2011 at 8:25 PM #

    Oh I would love to knit a pair of gloves. I’ve conquered sock construction but all those fingers on gloves intimidate me! Love the colour you’re using!

    • ginaquilts February 12, 2011 at 10:17 AM #

      The fingers aren’t bad – it’s the joins between the fingers that’s bad. I’m not sure how to make it better. Could be the way I’m picking up the stitches from the previous fingers when joining.

  2. Sonia February 12, 2011 at 9:26 AM #

    I love them! Gloves would look good in all your scrap yarns.

Leave a Reply

