This Ticks Me Off

9 Feb

I have two skeins of Patons Kroy Socks FX yarn – same color and dye lot.   I started knitting both socks and look!

They are DIFFERENT!  Now, my first clue was the yarn skeins themselves.  They look very different.  But with self-striping yarn, sometimes that can happen.  A lighter color is shown on the outside of one and a darker color is on the other.  So I started knitting.  But now I’m getting to where the yarn is repeating and there’s no way this is right!  I can’t wear a pair of socks like this!  Crap!  Two nights of knitting and I have to scrap it.  Crap, crap, crap…  I should write the company and complain.

4 Responses to “This Ticks Me Off”

  1. Sheila February 9, 2011 at 7:18 PM #

    OH gosh, don’t rip them out! I hope that it’s just they are the same and you are at a different place in the striping sequence on each foot. I’ve read (and tried successfully) to find the exact (or near) same spot on both skeins to start each sock if you want them to look identical.

    I think these would be adorable with jeans!

  2. Mom February 9, 2011 at 10:41 PM #

    I wouldn’t rip them out. They would be alright if you wear them around the house. They’ll still be warm.

  3. Sonia February 10, 2011 at 8:06 AM #

    Are you planning on wearing these when you meet the President (wearing shorts)? OK, then…keep going!

    • ginaquilts February 10, 2011 at 8:48 AM #

      LOL! They are only socks after all and I should have kept that perspective BEFORE I ripped them out. I couldn’t sleep last night. I just had to get up and rip out those socks! You know you’ve got a rough life when your KNITTING is what keeps you awake – not the ponderings of the important things in your life!

Leave a Reply

