Socks And Stuff

14 Jan

I knitted two pairs of socks on my trips back and forth to Kentucky.  I gave both pairs to my sister who has never had hand knitted socks.  She seems to like them.  🙂  Small price to pay for the accompaniment although I’m afraid the bill is not paid in full – this is just a down payment!

I call these my ILINKY socks – because I knit them through Illinois, Indiana, and Kentucky.  Get it?  The state abbreviations?  No need to panic – that’s about as witty as I get!

2 x 2 rib. My first toe up socks

These are toe up also. Just plain stocking stitch.

The aqua yarn is from Knit Picks; it’s their Risata brand.  I love it!  I bought more in the last order so I can knit myself a pair in a cream color.  The second pair is ?? who knows??  I balled it and attempted socks with this yarn twice!  Both times I ripped them out.  Plain ole stocking stitch was needed because the yarn was actually very busy and hard to see a pattern.  Both yarns were about 50/50 wool and cotton with a little elastic thrown in.  But the first aqua pair was so much softer!  And I believe the aqua yarn was significantly cheaper too.

On to other news:

Cory is overseas.  He left the “whatever-country-he-was-at” today and will be incommunicado for a while.  I think about him in the back of my mind 24/7.

DJ took a test a month or so ago at school.  He’s only in 6th grade but the school wanted him and another boy to take a high school entrance exam with the 8th graders.  We got the results today and he did very well.  Keeping in mind that the rest of the kids that took the test around the nation were two years older and had two years more coursework….  he scored a 93% in the nation on the composite score!  His math score was 98% and science was 94%.  Pretty cool, huh?

His school, and in particular his math teacher, wanted him to take the test because they are trying to convince the area high school to let the boys take high school algebra as 7th graders and high school science as 8th graders.   I don’t know how the other boy did, but I’m guessing that he did equally as well.  He’s very bright too.  The reasoning behind taking these subjects so young is that the students need high school math and science to get into IMSA (the Illinois Math and Science Academy) as 9th graders.  IMSA is a public boarding school that only takes the brightest kids in the state – specializing in math and science.  DJ really wants to go to IMSA but I’m questioning his social readiness and maturity.  The decision is still a few years off, so I’m not going to sweat it now.

3 Responses to “Socks And Stuff”

  1. Sonia January 14, 2011 at 7:25 PM #

    These socks (and 2 sleeves) will make your bill “paid in full”!! You’re so talented and that’s why you’re on the deserted prairie with me and Bruce. We’ll have plenty of knitted clothing plus quilts plus canned goods to get us through the winters.

    Thanks for cropping out my hairy legs or less my career in modeling knitted socks would be over 🙂

  2. Alberta in N GA January 16, 2011 at 8:36 AM #

    as far as your son and his math and science goes, I suggest doing everything possible to advance him at his OWN pace. these curriculums are so important these days and if he wants to go to boarding school for his high school years.. let him… you would be surprised at how ready they are for this.. all my kids went to boarding school for their high school years and they enjoyed it and it was well worth the money I spent for them to do this. Just my 2 cents worth.

  3. Sheila January 20, 2011 at 5:38 AM #

    Congrats on your toe-up socks; they look great. I especially like the heel–I downloaded that tutorial when I first started knitting socks and have never tried it! Now I will.

Leave a Reply

