4am

12 Jan

I had a hard time sleeping so I finally got up at 4am this morning.  I’m just so sad for my son.  He didn’t want to go back to Afghanistan.  His first deployment was so difficult.  This new deployment was sprung on him so suddenly that it’s been a whirlwind of activity to get him ready in only a month’s time.  But I woke up this morning thinking about him.  It was so cold in that Morton building we had to wait in for 5 hours.  I couldn’t take it.  He had to stay there for another 2 hours before being told to go home for another day.  I feel bad for wanting to leave knowing he had to endure those conditions and worse not only for a day but for a long time.  He’s by himself.  Since he was only given a short notice and he’s not leaving with his “people”, he doesn’t know anyone that he’s traveling with.  He just got such a crappy deal.

I just feel so sad for him.  Here I go back to my toasty warm house filled with family and our hectic schedule and normalcy.  It feels selfish. And I think, “He’s not the only one there.  What about the other soldiers?”  This is such a forgotten war.  The American people have no idea what’s going on.  Out of sight; out of mind.  It’s just easier for “us” to go about our business and forget all about the fact that there is a war going on.  There are men and women who are in Afghanistan dealing with this crap every day and we Americans have forgotten about them.  We have no idea what conditions they have to endure and what their mental state must be.

I have heard no word from him yet.  I don’t know if he actually left last night or if he’s holed up in an airport somewhere waiting still to board a plane.  I know it will take at least a week for him to get to his base.  Hopefully I can talk to him so I can sense from his voice what his state of mind is.  Until then… I’ll just keep going about my normal life I guess and feel guilty for doing so.

2 Responses to “4am”

  1. GRANPA January 12, 2011 at 9:38 AM #

    You’re a great Mom & he’s so lucky to have you in his corner…DAD

  2. Ruthie January 12, 2011 at 1:47 PM #

    I’m praying that this deployment will go by quickly for both of you and he will be back on U.S. soil soon! Thank goodness for brave soldiers like your son.

Leave a Reply

