I’m Home

11 Jan

I’m home from seeing my son, Cory, off again to Afghanistan.  And, once again, he hasn’t left.  Again…  This time the delay is weather related.  We had to leave him though to return to normal life (whatever that is).  He is set to leave for the third time tonight – 9:00pm.

School starts tomorrow with all day meetings.  Classes begin on Thursday.  Bummer… Winter break is officially over.

I caught up on my sleep last night having only had about 2 hours of sleep in the last two days.  I’m sluggish today but getting some good work done.

On the topic of knitting… were we talking about knitting?

No but I was thinking about it anyway.  You can get a tremendous amount of knitting done in two round trips to Kentucky.  Not so much when you are driving or too tired to concentrate in the slightest bit though.  I finished TWO pairs of socks during the two trips.  I call them my ILINKY socks since they were knit in IL, IN, and KY.  Get it?  I’m so punny!  No pictures of those socks though.  I gave them to my sister who endured me through both trips.

I’ve started my third pair of the year though.  These are RED.  🙂  Who wears red socks?  Evidently I will soon!

These are knitted with Knit Picks Hand Painted yarn – I think “Stroll” in the colorway called “Gypsy”.  I love the yarn. I bought another hank in Blue Violet but unfortunately they are more violet than blue.  Who wears purple socks?  I guess the same person who wears red socks…

I got a Knit Picks order in today.

All of the above is for knitting more socks!  I can’t wait!  I’m going to try to knit the next pair on size 1 circs instead of size 2.  I got only one  circular needle and it’s metal instead of wood.  When the wood needles get so small, I feel like I’m going to snap them in pieces.  I purchased size 0 wood needles a while back and they are just not working out.  So maybe size 1 is a good size for me.

Also I received Sonia’s sleeve yarn.


Yeah – you read that right.  She bought a blue jean vest that she wants sleeves attached onto.  Hmmm…. I can’t quite figure out how to do it, but that will be my next project to tackle.  Probably… If I can get my  mind wrapped around how to do this and can get some measurements from her for length and width and such.

Dan got a new camera at work and I’m trying to learn everything about it.  I took all the above pictures and more (lots more)with the new camera.  I don’t have a clue on what I’m doing.  I want an SLR camera but they are expensive and I want to know if I will use it and which ones are most usable for the clueless.  This one is easy to operate but the viewfinder access is weird and I don’t like the screen in the back at all.  It’s not very WYSIWYG.  Could be user error though.

 

 

2 Responses to “I’m Home”

  1. GRANPA January 11, 2011 at 6:12 PM #

    Very clear photos. GOOD JOB,AS USUAL…DAD

  2. Sonia January 12, 2011 at 9:00 AM #

    Wow, the color of the yarn for the sleeves is great. Camera takes good pics.

Leave a Reply

