Happy New Year 2011

1 Jan

Wow – another year has screamed past us at record speed!  We spent New Year’s Eve with just the four of us.  I thought Mia might join us later – after work – but she stayed at work to bring in the new year with her boyfriend.  Cory spent New Year’s Eve with his girlfriend who drove down to KY to be with him until his deployment on January 4th.  My sister and I will travel to KY on the 3rd and drive back on the 5th.  I don’t want to think too much about that now…

I spent the morning knitting my toe-up socks.  For a new technique, they are knitting along nicely.

It took all morning to figure out how to turn the heel.  I’m using this technique.  I didn’t have the same number of stitches casted on as she did so it took twice through it to get it “right” or at least to my satisfaction.  I have the leg on this sock to go.  The other one isn’t much further behind – only about 10 rows or so.  The yarn is Knit Picks Risata and is VERY SOFT.  It’s about 1/2 cotton and 1/2 superwash wool with a little elastic thrown in.  It was knotting up HORRIBLY in the skein.  I had to ball it and still have about 1/2 a skein that is in a knotted mess.  We’ll see if I need it – otherwise I’m not spending any more time untangling it.

I would like to knit 6 pairs of socks in 2011.  I pulled out the previous black/multi socks that were half finished.  I had started them in October and really wasn’t into them.  I’d like to try new techniques like this – keeps things interesting.  I only have size 2 circular needles though. I bought zeros in wood from Knit Picks but they are just too small.  I feel like I’m going to break the wood and they are uncomfortable to knit with.  I should sell them on eBay.  I’m going to order a size 1 or 1.5 circular.  Ordering two gets to be expensive when you don’t like them!  But I would like to do some lace patterns that just need to be knit on thinner needles.

I’m taking down Christmas decorations after posting this and making Kumla (or Cumla – I’m not sure of the spelling).  That’s already on the stove for supper since it takes so long to make.  Happy New Year’s!

Leave a Reply

